DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Old 08-07-2012, 02:51 AM

Default Question about microphones for drums

Hi all,

Apologies for asking such an over asked question. I looked around and while I found some great info, I'd still like to ask a few questions since I'm new to the subject and want to make sure I'm not making any mistakes. I recently purchased an M-Audio Fast Track Pro that has two inputs and also came with Pro Tools SE. I'm mainly a drummer but I also play guitar and bass and the idea I had behind the purchase was to be able to record some original material. I am able to record the guitar and bass fine since I'm just going directly in to the Fast Track Pro with an instrument cable. I'd like to be able to add drums to these songs as well so I'm going to need to purchase two microphones for my drums.

From what I have researched it seems that the best method of recording drums with only two microphones is to either do one mic on the bass drum and then have one overhead mic or do two overhead mics. I was looking at going down the route of doing the one mic on the bass drum and one overhead mic but I don't really know enough about mic'ing drums/recording drums to know what method would be best. As I record the drums I'd also like to be able to listen back to them through the headphone output on the Fast Track Pro (not sure if there is any special microphones/set ups that are required to be able to listen back to the drums while playing).