DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 07-06-2012, 01:19 AM

Default Most difficult thing about reading?

If you'd be so kind: what is the most difficult thing about reading music at your current level?

I'm creating a blog/youtube video series about reading drum notation. Specifically starting out from the beginning and understanding note value, time signature, etc. and working up to be able to read charts as I have done in my JC big band and on gigs. I'm mostly self-taught as a reader/drummer, and I know how frustrating it can be when you're starting out.

I want to make my blog as helpful and accessible as possible. Your help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
RP
Old 07-06-2012, 06:33 AM
Gold Member

Default Re: Most difficult thing about reading?

Reading the road map. By that I mean reading correctly symbols such as repeat signs or DC/DS and jumps to codas.
Old 07-06-2012, 07:01 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numberless View Post
Reading the road map. By that I mean reading correctly symbols such as repeat signs or DC/DS and jumps to codas.
I agree with this, but there's also the concept of "whatever you do, don't mess with the time and get to the next bar". I notice alot of younger players do this, they'll be playing along and then when they get a little lost, or come to a figure they have to think about, the time goes out the window, or they slow down, or... A constant sense of time-keeping is tantamount to playing music with others. Lots of times for me, this means that I could totally be blowing the written figures or a fill or a short solo, but I always land on the "1" of the next bar when you're supposed to.
Old 07-06-2012, 01:46 PM
Platinum Member

I agree at about 2 years of drumming experience with the 2 above.