DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Old 06-19-2012, 09:24 PM

Default New to edrums, a couple questions for the veterans around here!

I am a lifelong musician with a modest home studio (Pro Tools-based). I play keys, acoustic & electric guitar and sing. For the past few years I have enjoyed having my young son in my studio to share my love of music. He bangs around on my keyboard, strums the strings while I fret the chords on my guitars, sings into the mic with unbridled enthusiasm and beats the living shi*t out a small Yamaha drum pad I picked up on the cheap. Several times over the course of the past month, I approached him with the following proposition:

"Son, you can do anything you want. Do you want piano lessons? guitar lessons? drums lessons? voice lessons? You name it."

Each time, his answer was the same. "I want to play drums". The once major piece of studio gear I didn't already own. :)

Knowing that any kit I purchased would be set up in my studio where I spend almost all of my free time, I immediately knew that an acoustic kit was out of the question. Much too loud for a 7-year old just learning to play. Also, I have extremely high-quality software drum samples (Ocean Way Silver) that I traditionally programmed by hand for my projects -- but have dreamed of triggering with an ekit. So last week I purchased a new Alesis DM8 Pro kit. My son's first drum lesson is this coming Saturday, and we're both very excited. Plus his drum teacher was in a hair-metal band in the 80's that got some airplay on MTV Headbangers Ball. :)