DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-25-2012, 07:50 AM
Devon8822 Devon8822 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 23
Default Memory Locks?

I dont really get the purpose of memory locks? I thought they were supposed to make it so you could take your hardware apart for moving, than be able to put it back together with the same settings? I just got a Gibraltar throne with a memory lock but you cant change anything unless you unlock bother the main lock and the memory lock. What is the purpose of this? Is it solely for more support, and to prevent slippage? because the the swivel top will not come off unless both locks are un-done. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2012, 08:01 AM
mo2vation mo2vation is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 160
Default Re: Memory Locks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devon8822 View Post
I dont really get the purpose of memory locks? I thought they were supposed to make it so you could take your hardware apart for moving, than be able to put it back together with the same settings? I just got a Gibraltar throne with a memory lock but you cant change anything unless you unlock bother the main lock and the memory lock. What is the purpose of this? Is it solely for more support, and to prevent slippage? because the the swivel top will not come off unless both locks are un-done. thanks
On mini cymbal booms, and most any rack bar / clamp - I have them. Love them. LOVE them. They aid my set up time, cutting it down dramatically, and let me hit the same precise set up every time.

On a throne? Really? I'd have to see it.

Unless you're doing anything more than simply lifting off the seat and folding up the base, I don't get it.

On my uber-lightweight Tama POS throne, I have a memory lock, as the seat doesn't spin but simply travels on its riser tube.

In a general sense - I love them!


-K
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2012, 08:58 AM
harryconway's Avatar
harryconway harryconway is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pasadena, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 9,259
Default Re: Memory Locks?

If you see no purpose in the memory lock, I'd simply take it off. Who needs to carry more weight than we drummers already have to carry? I take off almost all the memory locks, on my gear. To me, if it's not an asset, then it's a detriment. But to each, their own.
__________________
This seat does not recline as per Federal Aviation Regulation 121.310 (f)(3)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2012, 10:29 AM
audiotech
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Memory Locks?

Depending on the mechanism to raise or lower the throne, it might just be a secondary fail safe so the throne won't slip down. I had a throne in the sixties that did just that, slipped. It consisted of a collar that would just tighten around a tubular piece of metal that the seat was attached to. It feels as if your world is collapsing. I do use the memory locks on my stands and mounts though, especially on my tom mounts.

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:24 AM
Les Ismore's Avatar
Les Ismore Les Ismore is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Location, Location!
Posts: 4,033
Default Re: Memory Locks?

If you have a smooth shaft drum throne, not threaded, I would suggest keeping the memory locks on as they help prevent the tube from slipping.

They're nice on spindle (threaded shaft) thrones too, as they can tighten-up the spindle from side-side play when extended. Also cool when you want to mess with raising your seat height as they provide the default height setting. Experimenting with lowering your seat height though requires you to use a measuring devise and remove the memory clamp.

Memory locks on stands? i don't use them as I set-up differently each time I play. With so,me rare exceptions like PEARL smooth chrome boom arms, which do need their memory locks to be used as they tend to slip easily.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:59 AM
bobdadruma's Avatar
bobdadruma bobdadruma is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: second measure of a fill-in
Posts: 10,404
Default Re: Memory Locks?

I am a big fan of memory locks.
I use them on certain things that I like to have the same each time that I set up.
These things are as follows,

Throne height
Bass drum spurs
Floor tom legs
High tom mount
Hi-hat stand
Cymbal boom arms

I don't use them on straight cymbal stands because they are easy to set height on.
I sometimes raise and lower my crashes depending on the song.
__________________
I kind of like old drums:)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2012, 04:06 PM
drumdevil9's Avatar
drumdevil9 drumdevil9 is online now
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal area
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Memory Locks?

In the case of that throne it is simply to lock your height in place preventing it from swiveling up or down. The seat cannot be swiveled when it is in place and tightened. If you like to be able to adjust the height at will then you may as well take it off.

I generally don't use memory locks on cymbal stands but I do use them with my rack on pretty much everything. I use the ones on my tom arms and floor tom legs too. It just makes life easier.
__________________
Eric
14 Crew
Drumblr
YouTube Channel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2012, 05:32 PM
KarlCrafton's Avatar
KarlCrafton KarlCrafton is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 4,519
Default Re: Memory Locks?

I have that same Gibratar seat in the pic Les posted. I have the "Softy" top, great seat.

Yeah, to adjust height, you have to loosen the lock.
Once the seat is where you want it, lock it in place. It won't swivel around while you move with the lock tightened.

I like my seat set, and to not move, so I use the lock, but if you change seat height "when you feel like it", I'd just take the lock off.
__________________
My band Artificial Agent here: http://drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=116637
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2012, 06:02 AM
kzdruma's Avatar
kzdruma kzdruma is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 230
Default Re: Memory Locks?

I use memory locks on my thrones. I lock it in at the height I like so that I can move it back after a student adjusts it.

Same purpose as stands really...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com