DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-22-2012, 01:04 AM
Zoulvisia Zoulvisia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default Can you attach a hoop without using lugs?

Or can you attach the head without using the loop at all?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2012, 01:58 AM
iontheable's Avatar
iontheable iontheable is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 295
Default Re: Can you attach a hoop without using lugs?

Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2012, 02:09 AM
caddywumpus's Avatar
caddywumpus caddywumpus is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 5,442
Default Re: Can you attach a hoop without using lugs?

Can you attach a hoop without using lugs?

Yes, if one of the hoops allows you to screw the tension rods from the other hoop directly into it, or if you have rim clips or hoop claws that receive the threading of the tension rods from the other hoop. You can get around the lug nut thing pretty easily.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoulvisia View Post
Or can you attach the head without using the loop at all?
By "loop", I assume you mean "rim" or "hoop"...

Yes, you can tack the head to the drum. That's what they did in the old days with calfskin heads. It's a little harder to do with modern heads, but I'm sure it *could* be done. You could also glue them on. It would be difficult to tune the drum with any of those methods, though...
__________________
Larry's real name is Cheech.

My kit: http://drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44195
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2012, 02:13 AM
iontheable's Avatar
iontheable iontheable is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 295
Default Re: Can you attach a hoop without using lugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by caddywumpus View Post
Can you attach a hoop without using lugs?

Yes, if one of the hoops allows you to screw the tension rods from the other hoop directly into it, or if you have rim clips or hoop claws that receive the threading of the tension rods from the other hoop. You can get around the lug nut thing pretty easily.



By "loop", I assume you mean "rim" or "hoop"...

Yes, you can tack the head to the drum. That's what they did in the old days with calfskin heads. It's a little harder to do with modern heads, but I'm sure it *could* be done. You could also glue them on. It would be difficult to tune the drum with any of those methods, though...
Really? I guess I don't know it all then ... ha

Well, I guess, I just wouldn't understand why anyone would want to do so...with the hoop technology being as it is.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2012, 10:35 PM
tard's Avatar
tard tard is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: springhill nova scotia canada
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: Can you attach a hoop without using lugs?

Or buy drums made with bridges and no lugs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2012, 02:22 AM
caddywumpus's Avatar
caddywumpus caddywumpus is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 5,442
Default Re: Can you attach a hoop without using lugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tard View Post
Or buy drums made with bridges and no lugs.
I've never owned a set of Peavey Radials. Do the tension rods screw directly into the wood? Or, do the radial bridges have lugs embedded in them?
__________________
Larry's real name is Cheech.

My kit: http://drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44195
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2012, 03:51 AM
Zoulvisia Zoulvisia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: Can you attach a hoop without using lugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tard View Post
Or buy drums made with bridges and no lugs.
How is the bridge attached to the drum them?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2012, 02:22 AM
tard's Avatar
tard tard is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: springhill nova scotia canada
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: Can you attach a hoop without using lugs?

The shells are glued into the bridge to keep them on and there are stainless inserts in the bridge for the tension rods to screw into. The bridge takes all the stress and strain allowing the shell to resonate freely with no holes or lugs to distort the vibrations.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com