DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Pedals

Pedals Discuss Pedals

Old 01-02-2012, 09:22 PM

Default Double Bass Pedals - Slave pedal lag, and why your tiny u joints could be a big problem

Hello all,

My name is Alex and I have been playing drums for about 5 years and recently took a bit of a hiatus while my last two years of my bachelors degree was being finished (and as a result I was living in an apartment complex and could not play (or had room for) my kit. I have gotten back into the game now that I am living in a new place and now have my kit down with me while I pursue my Masters degree. I have completed my Bachelors in Automotive Technology and thus have a vast knowledge of the service techniques used in Automotive industry. More on my automotive influence later. I play a DW 5002 double pedal and love the thing however it is an older pedal that I have done a few modifications to, I would like to take some of you through part of my solution to alleviate an issue that has plagued drummers for years when it comes to double pedals.

That damn slave...

For years most drummers have gotten "used to" the lag time and response from that left side pedal. It can be solved by using something like a bi-lateral pedal such as the offering from off-set (http://www.off-set.net/Off-Set/Home.html) This is because both sides have equal lag. Meaning it may screw your primary foot up a tad, but your left will now react equally to your right.

However, what if your not interested in dropping more coin on a new pedal? Or plain don't like the way a bi-lateral pedal is set up?

Well, a lot of our issue comes down to our u-joints...