DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-29-2011, 01:44 PM
kettles's Avatar
kettles kettles is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rotorua, New Zealand
Posts: 1,201
Default I bought a Beat Bug

And it's a nifty little gadget. Used it on a covers gig on the weekend and my tempo saw a huge improvement. I will post up a better overview at some stage with my experiences with it.

Does anyone else use one, and have you tried using a different trigger with it? The one it comes with is a little inconvenient to use. I'd like to know how well a Roland or ddrum trigger (or others) works, as they are easier to clip to the snare and I wouldn't mind something a little more sensitive.

http://www.luglock.com/tempometers.htm
__________________
Hi, I'm Andrew.
My old band, come download our stuff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2011, 10:36 AM
Pimento Pimento is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 453
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

Hmm, interesting concept, not a whole lot of info on what they do, do they just measure your speed so you can work at keeping it constant? Or can you ser a BPM and it shows where you are while playing in relation to that?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2011, 11:08 AM
kettles's Avatar
kettles kettles is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rotorua, New Zealand
Posts: 1,201
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

It basically works like the tap function on a metronome. Except instead of tapping a button, it goes off your snare hits via a trigger. Will give a better run down when I get time. As an example, if I know that a song is supposed to be 100bpm, then the beat bug should display 50. If it's more or less, then my tempo is off.
__________________
Hi, I'm Andrew.
My old band, come download our stuff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2011, 09:11 PM
Les Ismore's Avatar
Les Ismore Les Ismore is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Location, Location!
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

I've gone through one BEAT BUG, two TEMPO-REF's (had it reconditioned) and two GROOVE GUIDE's (had it reconditioned after I wore it out also).

DDRUM triggers work great, I use a small(er) old drumKat trigger, better than either unit supplies.

The GROOVE GUIDE is higher quality and can withstand road abuse better than the LT stuff.

If you have the money i would suggest starting there, or just say its worth the extra money to 'start' there (with GROOVE GUIDE).
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2014, 06:39 PM
2bsticks's Avatar
2bsticks 2bsticks is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Waltham Ma
Posts: 921
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

Hi Lesismore,
I am thinking of getting a beat bug. Not to crazy about their sensor and wire setup on the snare. Will any ddrum trigger work? Will the ddrum sensor and cable fit the beat bug? I checked out groove guide they are out of stock,
Thanks 2B
__________________
Yamaha Oak Customs, Magstar Drums, 1971 Slingerlands, Zildjian, Sabian, Vic Firth, Remo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2014, 06:40 PM
BillRayDrums's Avatar
BillRayDrums BillRayDrums is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lower California
Posts: 371
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

You got a Speedometer! :D
__________________
~

Best Regards,
13612
Bill Ray
http://billraydrums.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2014, 04:57 PM
whiteknightx's Avatar
whiteknightx whiteknightx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 101
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

I have their other product - the tempo ref. It just sits on the snare itself, and gives me a bpm count. It's a little pricy, but an effective tool. I have found that sometimes I can slow down slightly while I'm listening for a cue coming from the other guys in the band.

It's different from a metronome, because the metronome once started you are tied to it. If the singer waits a second before singing a line during a break, you're off the beat. The tempo ref picks up on the fly whenever you are playing. I like mine, although I've hit it accidentally while playing. The bad is you can't use it very easily to get your timing for count in's, and the controls are hard to figure out.
__________________
Gretsch Catalina Maple Amber 7 pc, Sabian HHX Evolution cymbals, Promark 737 sticks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2014, 07:50 PM
2bsticks's Avatar
2bsticks 2bsticks is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Waltham Ma
Posts: 921
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

Hi, Thanks for the info, if I decide to pull the trigger I am going to go with the Beat Bug, I don't need the metronome function. I will use it to monitor myself during the gig only as a reference. I think I will connect it to a DDRUM trigger and use an adaptor to the Beat Bug. Should work?
Attached Images
 
__________________
Yamaha Oak Customs, Magstar Drums, 1971 Slingerlands, Zildjian, Sabian, Vic Firth, Remo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-21-2014, 07:38 PM
Les Ismore's Avatar
Les Ismore Les Ismore is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Location, Location!
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bsticks View Post
Hi Lesismore,
I am thinking of getting a beat bug. Not to crazy about their sensor and wire setup on the snare. Will any ddrum trigger work? Will the ddrum sensor and cable fit the beat bug? I checked out groove guide they are out of stock,
Thanks 2B
DDRUM trigger is 1/4" in, my TEMPO REF is mini plug, BEAT BUG is probably the same.

You can always get adaptor plugs.

GROOVE GUIDE is all 1/4" which makes huge a difference with the durability issues of BEAT and TEMPO REF.

These KAT triggers work well, I've used them in the past. You should be able to get $20-25 ea for them on ebay, this is a good deal actually.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-21-2014, 07:46 PM
Florian's Avatar
Florian Florian is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 917
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

Cant find a price on that Groove Guide...anyone know?

F
__________________
Sonor Ascent & SQ2
Paiste/UFIP/Evans/Vater/Pearl
Porter and Davies
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-21-2014, 08:00 PM
Les Ismore's Avatar
Les Ismore Les Ismore is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Location, Location!
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Florian View Post
Cant find a price on that Groove Guide...anyone know?

F
They were $150 years ago, might have went up.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-23-2014, 02:53 PM
AZStickman's Avatar
AZStickman AZStickman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 157
Default Re: I bought a Beat Bug

I've been using the "Live BPM"app on my i-pad for the last 8 months or so. Not perfect, but it does a good job and it was free...... Terry
__________________
"I always give this advice - be a musician, not a drummer."

.......Bermuda.......
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com