DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-21-2011, 06:49 AM
dudesikoff dudesikoff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Default Can I...?

Before I state my question I should introduce myself, my name is Chaz, and I have been drumming off an on for about 5 years. While I have been drumming for that long, I'm not that great, and don't have too much knowledge in drumming hardware.

Now to my question, "Can I use a batter head as a resonant, and if not, what would it sound like?"

I believe the answer is no, but let me get some more background info on why I am asking this.

I bought a set from my friend for $150, not a bad deal, it came with a double bass pedal, three toms, bass, snare, hi hat, crash, and crash ride. Anyways, when I first played these drums I instantly popped a hole into 2 of the 3 tom's heads. The heads hadn't been replaced in over 5 years so I figured it was time to replace the batters and resonants.

So I headed down to my local Guitar Center, and I told the "Drum Expert" I needed resonant and batter heads. He picked out I know for a fact a pack of Evans G2 Coated, which is a batter head. I don't remember off the top of my head what the "resonants" were. Because apparently his idea of what a batter is, is a coated head, which is clearly not true, because can't a batter be either coated, or clear, and he thought that a clear automatically meant it was a resonant.

I was skeptical of his theory, but went with it, just because I assumed he knew more than me...


So back to the issue at hand, I think I could have possibly purchased two packs of batter heads, one clear and one coated, I put the heads on my drums and they don't sound horrible, they sound somewhat bongo-y.

Could I have bought the wrong drum heads?
Are ANY batter/resonant heads interchangeable?
I looking on the Evans website, and they have a G1 under both the resonant and batter category, with the same product number, does that mean that the G1 is interchangeable?


Any info on the subject would be EXTREMELY appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2011, 06:58 AM
Pocket-full-of-gold's Avatar
Pocket-full-of-gold Pocket-full-of-gold is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
Posts: 9,814
Default Re: Can I...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudesikoff View Post
Now to my question, "Can I use a batter head as a resonant, and if not, what would it sound like?"
With the exception of a Snare Side resonant head (2 or 3mils) there is no such thing as a batter or resonant head. A 10mil single ply head like a G1 or an Ambassador is commonly used as a reso head....but you'll note that they are commonly used as a batter head too.

I'm aware that Aquarian make a distinction and Evans may do with respect to their bass drum heads....but all in all, you can pretty much use any head as a batter or reso. What matters is, how does it sound?

A very common head combination is a 2 ply batter over a 1 ply reso. In your case a G2 over a G1. Personally I'd swap a set of the G2's for G1's as I prefer a 1 ply reso, but you wouldn't be the first person to use a double ply reso should you choose to keep what you have.
__________________
What's the best cape for running away from a gig?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2011, 07:00 AM
DSCRAPRE's Avatar
DSCRAPRE DSCRAPRE is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Packer Country
Posts: 786
Default Re: Can I...?

In short, a batter can be used as a resonant weather it is clear or coated. For instance my toms have a G2 Coated batter over a G1 Coated.

Now if a head explicitly states that it is a resonant, than I wouldn't put it on the batter side.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2011, 07:04 AM
dudesikoff dudesikoff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can I...?

Thanks for the quick replies, I understand what you both are saying now, I appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2011, 01:11 AM
harryconway's Avatar
harryconway harryconway is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pasadena, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 9,161
Default Re: Can I...?

Putting heads on a kit ... it's all about getting a "good" sound. Now, "good" is in the eye of the beholder. Maybe "you're" the judge of "good sound". Or it might be a producer, of a "recording engineer", or a "sound man" ... maybe the general rule is "good" is the judgement of the guy with the "wallet" ....
Now, that said ... you paid $150for a drum set ... so I'm assuming it's "not" a pro level kit ... so some head options may never sound "good" ... sometimes about all you can do is run Pinstripe heads batter ... and a single ply head reso. ..... and that's about as good as it's gonna get. Other times, an "extremely affordable" kit will have a little more flexibility than that.
As far as the guy at GC, well, he's not necessarily "wrong" with his selection ... but certainly a little "narrow minded". I'd make a "horrible" GC employee (as far as the company mold goes) because I'd spend upwards of an hour talking to you about drum head selection. But you'd leave with a better understanding of head combo's ... and you'd hopefully have a "good" sound, when you re-head your kit.
__________________
This seat does not recline as per Federal Aviation Regulation 121.310 (f)(3)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com