DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-20-2011, 02:29 PM
mikeg's Avatar
mikeg mikeg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlottesville Virginia
Posts: 201
Default Metronome with keypad for tempo?

I was reading Poly's post on Adjusting tempo, and I'm curious if anyone knows of a metronome with a number keypad for setting the tempo?
Counting off songs is mostly up to me, and it would be nice to have this feature. I have a Tama Rhythm Watch, but it has a jog-wheel knob
which is okay, but not as good or fast as punching in a number.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2011, 12:31 AM
CoverUpsDrummer CoverUpsDrummer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Metronome with keypad for tempo?

Hey Mike!

I'm after the very same thing! The we use the same one at the moment - and the jog wheel is a right bind... We tried programming tempos, and 20 songs is the limit. No good if your set is usually close to 40!

A lot of people have recommended things like the Boss DB-90... all very well, but 100, no keypad, and more than likely a pain in the rear for making up a playlists.

The alternative to hardware is software, and apps. The problem I find with them is that they tend to be rather fiddly. I don't know about you, but I want to keep my eyes on the musicians before I count them in - the last thing I want to do is look down at a touchscreen to see where the button is before moving on...

I think hardware is the way forward - but I've not seen a good solution to this issue yet!

We'll keep our ear to the ground for now!

m
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2011, 01:03 AM
uniin's Avatar
uniin uniin is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Blue Mountains, Australia
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Metronome with keypad for tempo?

korg beatlab has one.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2011, 06:27 PM
mikeg's Avatar
mikeg mikeg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlottesville Virginia
Posts: 201
Default Re: Metronome with keypad for tempo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoverUpsDrummer View Post
The alternative to hardware is software, and apps. The problem I find with them is that they tend to be rather fiddly. I don't know about you, but I want to keep my eyes on the musicians before I count them in - the last thing I want to do is look down at a touchscreen to see where the button is before moving on...
Agreed. It needs to be simple to program and operate during a performance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by uniin View Post
korg beatlab has one.

This looks interesting. I didn't know it was out there. The only one I was aware of was made by Yamaha (Clickstation), but
it's been discontinued. You see them on eBay occasionally after they've been sold... I'll definitely check out the Korg.

Thanks.

-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2011, 06:58 PM
MusiQmaN's Avatar
MusiQmaN MusiQmaN is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 975
Default Re: Metronome with keypad for tempo?

If you got either the Korg or Yamaha, check out the mount for metronomes:



Lightweight, flexible, easy in use and sturdy.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2011, 07:05 PM
Dr_Watso's Avatar
Dr_Watso Dr_Watso is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: Metronome with keypad for tempo?

There's a free android app called "mobile metronome" which has this functionality. It's very, very handy.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2011, 10:12 PM
mikeg's Avatar
mikeg mikeg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlottesville Virginia
Posts: 201
Default Re: Metronome with keypad for tempo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by uniin View Post
korg beatlab has one.

I checked this one out online and it looks like it does what I want. It's on the way, and should be here in a few days.

Thanks

-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2011, 06:55 AM
uniin's Avatar
uniin uniin is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Blue Mountains, Australia
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Metronome with keypad for tempo?

i own a korg beatlab. its a really awesome metronome, has a bunch of rudiments inbuilt to it. you can do all that programming stuff (that i havn't figured out).

the only thing i don't like about it is that it doesn't have an aux out, but oh well! there are ways around that
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2011, 04:44 PM
mikeg's Avatar
mikeg mikeg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlottesville Virginia
Posts: 201
Default Re: Metronome with keypad for tempo?

If you have one of these, be happy, because you can't get one now (at least not online). My order was unceremoniously canceled and money refunded. Now I can't find it for sale anywhere. Weird..

If anyone knows of another metronome with a number keypad for entering tempo, please let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-30-2011, 05:48 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,670
Default Re: Metronome with keypad for tempo?

I use the Beatlab and am very happy with it. It does WAY more than I need, but being able to enter tempos on the fly makes it extremely handy and well worth the investment. That said, I've got a few iPad apps that may soon replace it, simply beacuse they're more legible to my eye. Ludwig offers a free metronome app on their site, and Guitartoolkit is a nifty tuner/tunings/guit-bass-banjo-etc app that sounds great and is a lot of fun, and has a nice large flashing metronome with various sounds. It's a scrollable tempo selecter, so not quite as speedy as the Beatlab, but at least I don't have to replace batteries. :) :)

If you happen to have an iphone, that would be smaller than the Beatlab as well.

Actually, I wouldn't be surpised if there's a 'nome app that has a keypad. :)

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:56 PM
mikeg's Avatar
mikeg mikeg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlottesville Virginia
Posts: 201
Default Re: Metronome with keypad for tempo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bermuda View Post
I use the Beatlab and am very happy with it. It does WAY more than I need, but being able to enter tempos on the fly makes it extremely handy and well worth the investment. That said, I've got a few iPad apps that may soon replace it, simply beacuse they're more legible to my eye. Ludwig offers a free metronome app on their site, and Guitartoolkit is a nifty tuner/tunings/guit-bass-banjo-etc app that sounds great and is a lot of fun, and has a nice large flashing metronome with various sounds. It's a scrollable tempo selecter, so not quite as speedy as the Beatlab, but at least I don't have to replace batteries. :) :)

If you happen to have an iphone, that would be smaller than the Beatlab as well.

Actually, I wouldn't be surpised if there's a 'nome app that has a keypad. :)

Bermuda
Bermuda.

Good suggestions. I have an iPhone as well as an iPad, but I wonder if the click would be audible in loud venues? I guess I could run it through my in-ear
monitor mixer. I'll give it a try this evening. The only downside to those devices is their expense and that they lock after 5 minutes of idle time. The
lock is forced on me because I chose to keep my work Email and calendar (Exchange) on them. That unfortunately makes them impractical unless the
app has a way of preventing the screen form locking (like the Netflix app). Otherwise, I have to enter a four digit code to unlock every five minutes.

I can't understand why none of the other metronomes have a number pad.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com