DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Pedals

Pedals Discuss Pedals

Old 10-07-2011, 12:49 PM

Default Different types of bass drum pedals (not just single and double)

Hey guys,

First post on here as you may have seen. Basically I'm doing a dissertation on drum pedals and their adjustability and I was wondering if you could help me out a bit. I've been drumming for like 9 years now (stopped having lessons about 2 years ago) so I thought that it would only make sense to do a dissertation topic on something that I was slightly familiar with.

I guess my first question is, what are the various different types of drum pedals. Obviously there are single and doubles and the variations of how those are laid out, but what I'm getting at are the ways that the pedal and beater are returned to their starting position. I know that the majority of pedals use a tension spring attached to the post of the pedal like on the Pearl Eliminators, then there are some pedals which use a compression spring like that found in the Trick Pro1-V and then there is that other pedal which was made by some guy that uses magnets I think it's called the Drumnetics Magnetic Pedal. Does anyone know if there are any other variations like using rubber instead of springs etc?

My second question is, what are the problems with the adjustability and the functionality of existing drum pedals. From what I can see, using springs means that the resistive force when you press on the pedal is exactly the same as the force used to return the spring back to its original position. This is what my dissertation looks at and aims to find a way to split the motion of pressing on the pedal to when your foot is released from the pedal to return the beater off the bass drum head/skin.