DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-29-2011, 04:22 AM
turbojerk's Avatar
turbojerk turbojerk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gettysburg Pa.
Posts: 161
Default TD-3 kit?

Looking at a used E-kit. It's a Roland TD-3 and I'm looking for some comments on this kit since I'm kinda new to the electric stuff. Looking to use mostly for practice and small gigs where volume is an issue.

The seller is asking $500 for kit and throne, no amp, bit I already have one.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2011, 04:34 AM
drumdevil9's Avatar
drumdevil9 drumdevil9 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal area
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

I have a TD-3 brain. It's a bit limited but the sounds are good and there's some good practice features. $500 for the kit in the picture seems reasonable but you may want to try it first to make sure all the pads work well.
__________________
Eric
Drumblr
YouTube Channel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2011, 04:39 AM
turbojerk's Avatar
turbojerk turbojerk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gettysburg Pa.
Posts: 161
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

Yeah I plan on giving it a test drive. What are some of the features? Do the cymbals have dual trigger zones as well as the toms etc?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2011, 02:34 PM
drumdevil9's Avatar
drumdevil9 drumdevil9 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal area
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

Cymbals yes, toms no. Here's a link to the manual PDF.

http://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&rct=j&...EJfFTw&cad=rja
__________________
Eric
Drumblr
YouTube Channel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2011, 02:40 PM
turbojerk's Avatar
turbojerk turbojerk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gettysburg Pa.
Posts: 161
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

So the rims on the toms do nothing or am i unclear on this?

Thanks for the link! Looking thru it now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2011, 04:26 PM
nhzoso
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

TJ hope you don't mind but I would like to piggy back this thread. I am looking to buy my 1st E-kit too and am looking at used in the $400-$600 range. Can anyone offer some tips on things to look for when buying a used E-kit? I mainly want to practice beats and coordination stuff on it when the wife is studying. I was looking at the new Yamaha DTX 500 series pads but it's a little too much money.

A concern I have is does the difference between the normal black rubber pads like the ones in the picture (OP) and a normal acoustic head cause you to play worse on an acoustic kit? I imagine the rebound off those rubber pads is much faster than off an acoustic 12/13" Mounted toms.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2011, 04:46 PM
turbojerk's Avatar
turbojerk turbojerk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gettysburg Pa.
Posts: 161
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

Itís all good!

The more info we can pump out of people the better!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2011, 07:09 PM
73Rogers's Avatar
73Rogers 73Rogers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 63
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

I picked up one of those kits from the local CL for $400.
From the pic posted it looks like the rack is missing some pieces. There should be smaller bracing tubes between the legs and the vertical poles.

There should also be a separate arm for the snare to mount on. It might be what he has the brain mounted on in the pic - hard to tell.

Make sure all the pads work and also test the cross stick on the snare. There was a recall on some of the early models. Roland fixed mine, but I had to send it back.

I'd try to talk him down a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2011, 12:07 AM
achdumeingute achdumeingute is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 149
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

Yes it's missing braces on the legs. They form triangles to give the kit more standing support.

The snare should be on a floating arm like the one the the floor Tom is on. The brain might be on it. The brain standard mounting spot is to the right of the hihat. Make sure this arm is there..it does look like the brain is in it.

Check to make sure the cymbals have bell and bow sounds and choke them. Move one of the cymbal inputs to the free jack on the brain (marked crash 2). Bring headphones to check out the ear jack, it's a 1/4 jack so get an adapter if needed. Push all the clear buttons on the module...none should collapse in the hole or stick. There is a small rotating volume knob near the ac input jack.

Snare is only one with rim sound I think.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-30-2011, 02:52 AM
drumdevil9's Avatar
drumdevil9 drumdevil9 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal area
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbojerk View Post
So the rims on the toms do nothing or am i unclear on this?

Thanks for the link! Looking thru it now.
The same sound will be triggered no matter where you hit it.
__________________
Eric
Drumblr
YouTube Channel
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-30-2011, 02:56 AM
drumdevil9's Avatar
drumdevil9 drumdevil9 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal area
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

Oh yeah, just noticed the missing braces on the legs and the snare thing. Hmmm, that might not be good. Talk him down for sure.
__________________
Eric
Drumblr
YouTube Channel
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-04-2011, 06:36 PM
turbojerk's Avatar
turbojerk turbojerk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gettysburg Pa.
Posts: 161
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

Ok switching gears a bit...

I was contacted buy a person sell an Alesis DM10-Pro kit. I wanted to stick with Roland, but I'm keeping my options open.

Anyone have comment(s) on the Alesis DM10-Pro?

Thanks
Troy

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-15-2011, 06:00 PM
nhzoso
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: TD-3 kit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbojerk View Post
Ok switching gears a bit...

I was contacted buy a person sell an Alesis DM10-Pro kit. I wanted to stick with Roland, but I'm keeping my options open.

Anyone have comment(s) on the Alesis DM10-Pro?

Thanks
Troy

I tried one out at guitar center and the pads are not very quiet at all.. I am sure neighbors would complain. It's almost as loud as an acoustic but annoyingly.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com