DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-20-2011, 04:17 AM
KSEfan's Avatar
KSEfan KSEfan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 71
Default How to record through a MIDI Out port

My DD502 kit has a MIDI port that I havent used. I recently learned that you can use that port to plug up to a computer to record your playing (Yes, I know, I'm late). How would I go about doing that? What cables or software would I need? Can I record a video of the playing without sound and match it with the audio recording?
  #2  
Old 07-20-2011, 05:45 AM
Bo Eder's Avatar
Bo Eder Bo Eder is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 10,238
Default Re: How to record through a MIDI Out port

MIDI is just computer data going into your computer to record the performance. The actual sounds will be triggered by the data coming into the computer. Which means your computer will be providing the drum sounds (not the sounds from your sound module that came with your electronic kit). So a couple of things need to happen: you need to set up your computer to create the actual sounds you'll be playing, and you'll have to figure out what MIDI note number each of your pads is so you can tell the computer, "my bass drum pad is triggering MIDI note number 38, I want you, computer, to assign a bass drum sound in your library to react only to MIDI note number trigger 38".

You can see why not alot of people do this anymore ;)
  #3  
Old 07-20-2011, 09:08 AM
mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How to record through a MIDI Out port

Bo's spot on the money.

MIDI really comes into its own as a control system. I use a sequencer that has hardware control, with OSC data triggering the sound samples and MIDI (with another piece of hardware) controlling other 'control' parameters like tempo, time signature and on/off. I love custom software.
  #4  
Old 07-20-2011, 05:26 PM
KSEfan's Avatar
KSEfan KSEfan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 71
Default Re: How to record through a MIDI Out port

Yikes. Thanks for the explanation. I'm no sound engineer so no messing with the MIDI for me. I took a different aproach. I took a double-male 3.5mm cable and plugged it into the headphone adapters slot in my drum module. The other end went into a split adapter with 2 female ends and one male end. I used the other slot to plug my headphones in so I can hear what I'm playing. The male end of the split adapter went into the microphone port of my labtop. I downloaded a free recording and mixing program called Audacity. Very nice program. I was able to configure it and record my drums straight from the brain this way. I took some time to mess with the volume levels for each piece of my kit. They were all set to my likings for when I play, but when I listen to it through the software, certain pieces overpower others. With that said and done, I'm gonna start recording and doing covers now. Thanks for the advice.
  #5  
Old 07-20-2011, 05:35 PM
Bo Eder's Avatar
Bo Eder Bo Eder is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 10,238
Default Re: How to record through a MIDI Out port

I'm not familiar with your sound module - so you only have stereo outputs? It'd be nice if you had several outputs so you could assign each sound to it's own specific output. I noticed that my Roland TD-10 only had stereo outs too. Not good for a recording situation where you want individual control of each sound in the mix-down phase.
  #6  
Old 07-20-2011, 07:40 PM
KSEfan's Avatar
KSEfan KSEfan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 71
Default Re: How to record through a MIDI Out port

I may be describing it wrong and confusing you. I'm not really extremely techy when it comes to this stuff. I have a MIDI out port, 9 inputs (1 for each piece of the kit), the 2 R/L Mono output slots, an Aux. In port (I plug my mp3 player into this), the power cable slot and the headphone output jack. I'll put a picture of the back where all the ports are. Sorry for the oversized picture. Trying to do this from my phone.
Attached Images
 
  #7  
Old 07-21-2011, 12:05 AM
Bo Eder's Avatar
Bo Eder Bo Eder is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 10,238
Default Re: How to record through a MIDI Out port

...........As I suspected!
  #8  
Old 07-21-2011, 01:22 AM
KSEfan's Avatar
KSEfan KSEfan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 71
Default Re: How to record through a MIDI Out port

Sorry for the confusion. I'm able to record nicely so I'll close this post. Thanks
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com