DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 07-04-2011, 03:23 AM

Default Wood tip sticks on electronic kit

I've been playing in church for about 4 months now and as do a large number of church drummers, I use an electronic kit. I also have one at home that I practice on a decent bit, especially during the school year. Anyway, I have always used wood tip sticks on them, but recently I switched to nylon after hearing that wood tips can damage the pads. Then about a month ago, our bassist tore his rotator cuff and has been out since. Fortunately one of our singers has a son who plays bass and he has been filling in ever since. He's fantastic, but he plays so loud sometimes that even with a monitor, I hear more of the stick hitting the pad than I do the sound of a drum. All of a sudden, it occurred to me today to try the wood tip sticks again since I've used them quite a bit on e-kits and my pads are all fine, and so does my teacher (heavy ones too, Pro-Mark 2Bs), and I got so much more sound out of them it is truly unbelievable.

So the main question is, should I be using nylon tips and just maybe get a heavier stick, or is wood OK? I was using Vater 5As with nylons, and the wood pair is a Vic Firth 5B I mainly use in my snare/pad practice. I'm comfortable with either, but I wouldn't go any heavier than 5B.
Old 07-04-2011, 03:30 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Wood tip sticks on electronic kit

Quote:
Originally Posted by drummindan8484 View Post
but recently I switched to nylon after hearing that wood tips can damage the pads.