DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 06-22-2011, 01:28 PM
Silver Member

Default Uptempo jazz studies - dancing on the ride and comping

As the title suggests, something I'm working on a lot at the moment is uptempo jazz work. Specifically, the 300-350bpm (crotchet pulse) range.

As well as John Riley's fantastic bop drumming books, I'm studying his Master Drummer DVD, as well as Tommy Igoe's section from G.E. 2.0 on very fast swing.

I'm having a little trouble with two areas. Firstly, at the top ranges, circa 350bpm, I'm starting to lose a little control on the stroke. Rather than keeping up a constant jazz-ride pattern, or controlled ride "dancing", I find myself just trying to keep to the tempo. I'm not tensed and work hard at staying relaxed, but the control is lacking. What is a good way to practice this? As I've said, this is uptempo study, so I feel like I should practice it at the high tempos. Up to and including the 300ish mark, my ride technique is fine, and I've put a good few years into practicing it slowly, so I'm not convinced continued slow practice will improve extreme uptempo technique. At this tempos, is it a case of practicing fast to get used to it?

Secondly, comping while dancing. Notwithstanding the above problem, when I have a comfortable ride feel at these tempos, I find I have lost much control of my comping. At a steady tempo, even high-mid swing like 250pm, with a steady ride pattern, I have relatively good comping control on all of my limbs. Playing uptempo however, especially with an erratic ride pattern, the comping feel disappears and I can't place the left hand a kick drum strokes where I want them.