DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Old 06-15-2011, 03:23 AM
Platinum Member

Default Help with an axis pedal

Ok, I have here an Axis AX single that I scored off my local Craigslist. It has served me quite well but I am getting a little frustrated with the spring.

Name:  axis 1.jpg
Views: 540
Size:  50.4 KB

I'm no expert but it looks like that is an aftermarket hardware store number that has been crudely attached to my pedal. The strange thing is that instead of a bar that the spring hooks to there is an eyelet for the spring. I have a new spring which I ordered from Axis bit it is too thick for the eyelet. I'm guessing its an older model.

Name:  axis 2.jpg
Views: 459
Size:  53.3 KB

Also, I'm guessing that this whole mess is something from the hardware store also.

Name:  axis 3.jpg
Views: 344
Size:  60.8 KB

Here is the hoop clamp assembly, it also looks nothing like the ones I've seen in Axis' diagrams. http://www.axispercussion.com/images...ust_pg1_lg.jpg

Sooo... My question if I can order a new "Spring assembly" (see the link above) to accommodate this new spring or modify the current one. I have already emailed Axis about it and they were less than helpful. I think I'll try again with these new pictures.

Thanks. I appreciate any help.

Edit: Forgot to ask, if any of you Axis gurus have a more helpful contact over at Axis. I tried the "info@" email and they told me to try a different email. Unfortunately I deleted their response out of frustration.
Old 06-15-2011, 05:03 AM

Default Re: Help with an axis pedal

Hmm. Looks like somebody did a little home mod to that pedal. You should go ahead and get a whole new spring assembly. It looks like the hoop clamp assembly is missing the screw used to tighten it and the spring that it rests on.

Call 310-549-1171 and they will send you what you need.