DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 06-07-2011, 10:51 PM

Default Sticks: Maple or Hickory?

What do you prefer and why?

For me it's maple. I love the soft feel and the tone I get on both cymbals and drums.
Old 06-08-2011, 12:32 AM

Default Re: Sticks: Maple or Hickory?

OAK! although i have to admit i've been playing the same sticks (promark oak 747) for many years now and i've really lost a sense for what other sizes and types of wood feel like.

when i switched from hickory to oak, it was because oak felt heavier than hickory sticks of the same size. i liked that feel. also at the time i was breaking a lot of sticks, and for whatever reason, i found oak sticks to whittle down slower and break less often.

drummer for Within a Reverie, an experiment in prog rock/metal/???
withinareverie.com
Old 06-08-2011, 12:40 AM
"Uncle Larry"

Hickory FTW. I drop maples too much. They're too light in weight for their size for me. I could see many folks liking them though. Oak is too heavy for me, but I'm sure they last and have great tone. My hands work best w/ hickory.
Old 06-08-2011, 02:03 AM

I don't think I've ever played Oak sticks. Gotta give them a try. I like the durability of Hickory but the Maples just feel right in my hands and to my ears.
Old 06-08-2011, 02:06 AM
"Uncle Larry"

That's all that matters.
Old 06-08-2011, 02:31 AM
Platinum Member

Either/or, depending on what I'm doing. Louder gigs I'll favour a hickory stick. Practice pad or kit practice at home I'll lean towards a maple stick. In my bag I have maple and hickory Fusions (basically a 5A), maple and hickory 7A's and hickory 3B's

Why? Why do I do anything....that's god's own private mystery. ;-) I'm guessing comfort, feel, durability, availability all come into play.