DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-14-2011, 08:00 PM
twowheeltony twowheeltony is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default Reuse reso heads?

I have coated ambassadors on the batt/reso sides of my Sonor 3007's. Can I flip them before replacing both? I am only playing at home so I am not a rock star but having good sound is important and I can afford new heads.

TwT
__________________
Sonor-Paiste-Remo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2011, 09:06 PM
IDDrummer's Avatar
IDDrummer IDDrummer is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I-Dee-Ho_Ho-Ho
Posts: 3,386
Default Re: Reuse reso heads?

If you were switching between two different drums with radically different bearing edges it might not work well, but since you are switching from bottom to top on the same drum it shouldn't be a problem.

Also, you don't have to change reso heads every time you change batters anyway. I change my batter heads frequently but reso heads only once a year or so. They will start to lose tone eventually, but if you are playing at home, I would just leave those babies right on there. You will find that a much smaller change in sound when changing to a new reso than a new batter - to me it wouldn't be worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2011, 11:25 PM
ineedaclutch's Avatar
ineedaclutch ineedaclutch is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: My living room
Posts: 575
Default Re: Reuse reso heads?

It also depends on your tuning habits. If you tune one side tighter than the other and swap it out on the other side it may be too stretched to achieve the sound you are looking for. If your batter heads are full of dents and are used as resos they will probably sound terrible. I have seen this done before, but I have never done it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2011, 12:44 AM
IDDrummer's Avatar
IDDrummer IDDrummer is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I-Dee-Ho_Ho-Ho
Posts: 3,386
Default Re: Reuse reso heads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ineedaclutch View Post
It also depends on your tuning habits. If you tune one side tighter than the other and swap it out on the other side it may be too stretched to achieve the sound you are looking for. If your batter heads are full of dents and are used as resos they will probably sound terrible. I have seen this done before, but I have never done it.
OK, I misread the OP, I guess. I wasn't thinking about putting the batters on the the reso side, I though you just meant using the reso side on the batter side. Stupid of me, now that I think about it.

don't see much point in doing that, really. It's just postponing the inevitable. May as well replace one head now rather than two later. If you can't afford heads right now, just keep playing them as they are until you can afford them.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2011, 12:57 AM
ineedaclutch's Avatar
ineedaclutch ineedaclutch is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: My living room
Posts: 575
Default Re: Reuse reso heads?

I agree with IDD. It would work in an emergency situation if you rip a head setting up and use the reso for a batter, but if it is just for practice you might as well get new batters. If you have any rehearsal rentals that do backline in your area you can pick up slightly used heads really cheap. Only buy used heads if you absolutley have to though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com