DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-02-2011, 08:48 AM
1Rhythmic's Avatar
1Rhythmic 1Rhythmic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Inside the Bass drum
Posts: 32
Default Firestudio Project Drum submixer

Hello fellas ,

I have very limited experience with recording , so i decided to ask some help here.
It's about the Firestudio Project.

What i want to do is
1) Recording
2) [Live] , use as drums submixer (sending the drums to the main mixer).

After reading about the "Project" , i just can't understand if it can be used as a submixer for my purpose. Could someone explain me how its done?

Here's the link : http://www.presonus.com/products/Det...x?ProductId=43

1000 thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2011, 10:51 PM
simmsdn simmsdn is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Pole, AK
Posts: 594
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

Yep, that'll definately work for recording...just add your favorite DAW (Cakewalk Sonar, Pro Tools 9, Cubase, Reaper, etc - yes Pro Tools 9 full edition works with any interface, not just M-Audio or Avid stuff).

You're gonna need a computer to work this as a pre for your drums...then use the outputs from this (post-mix outputs) into your snake or whatever. You can eq, compress, etc from the computer before drum signal goes into PA.
__________________
Ludwig Drums; TaylorMade Golf Clubs
http://www.youtube.com/zombie13studio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2011, 06:15 PM
1Rhythmic's Avatar
1Rhythmic 1Rhythmic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Inside the Bass drum
Posts: 32
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

Hey thanks for the information!! :)

One more question ,

The interface has 2 instrument inputs and 6 line in inputs.

Lets say we have a subkick , where do we plug it? In instrument input or line in?

Should i get a DI box?

Just don't want to cause any damage :)

Thanks again!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2011, 01:16 AM
simmsdn simmsdn is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Pole, AK
Posts: 594
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

The instrument inputs are line or balance on this interface, so doesn't really matter...should be a button or switch to change it from line to balanced.
__________________
Ludwig Drums; TaylorMade Golf Clubs
http://www.youtube.com/zombie13studio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2011, 01:16 AM
simmsdn simmsdn is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Pole, AK
Posts: 594
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

oh, and the subkick should have an XLR output...right?
__________________
Ludwig Drums; TaylorMade Golf Clubs
http://www.youtube.com/zombie13studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2011, 08:32 PM
1Rhythmic's Avatar
1Rhythmic 1Rhythmic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Inside the Bass drum
Posts: 32
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

Yeah , subkick has XLR output
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2011, 08:33 PM
1Rhythmic's Avatar
1Rhythmic 1Rhythmic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Inside the Bass drum
Posts: 32
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

So i should not bother with DI box?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2011, 10:15 PM
simmsdn simmsdn is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Pole, AK
Posts: 594
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Rhythmic View Post
So i should not bother with DI box?
DI box is designed to take an unbalanced signal (ie guitar or bass) and convert it to a balanced input.

With that interface, I do not see a need for ever using a DI box (unless you are simo recording two guitars and two basses not miced and direct into it). Save yourself the $30, you're good.

Subkick is a balanced output...all 8 XLRs are balanced, inputs 1&2 will also accept unbalanced signals (look for a switch to select between balanced/unbal for those two channels).
__________________
Ludwig Drums; TaylorMade Golf Clubs
http://www.youtube.com/zombie13studio
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2011, 11:11 PM
Stalwart_Pandora-Chris's Avatar
Stalwart_Pandora-Chris Stalwart_Pandora-Chris is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 727
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by simmsdn View Post
DI box is designed to take an unbalanced signal (ie guitar or bass) and convert it to a balanced input.

With that interface, I do not see a need for ever using a DI box (unless you are simo recording two guitars and two basses not miced and direct into it). Save yourself the $30, you're good.

Subkick is a balanced output...all 8 XLRs are balanced, inputs 1&2 will also accept unbalanced signals (look for a switch to select between balanced/unbal for those two channels).
I use a DI Box to boost the drums up on some of my drum tracks (I use two mics).
They sound great! But sometimes the audio shifts around. But oh well :)
__________________
Mapex, Sabian, Vic Firth.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-16-2011, 03:16 PM
1Rhythmic's Avatar
1Rhythmic 1Rhythmic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Inside the Bass drum
Posts: 32
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

Thanks a million fellas :D
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-16-2011, 04:05 PM
keep it simple's Avatar
keep it simple keep it simple is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 16,301
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

Just be careful with the output from the Subkick, it can be quite hot.
__________________
This message is brought to you courtesy of Thinly Veiled Productions inc.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-16-2011, 08:18 PM
simmsdn simmsdn is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Pole, AK
Posts: 594
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by keep it simple View Post
Just be careful with the output from the Subkick, it can be quite hot.
For abut $.30 of parts from Radio Shack, you can make the sub kick a lot more 'controllable' sound wise...if it's a factory Yamaha sub kick, they didn't match impedence well out of the box (so it's too hot and clips immediately).
__________________
Ludwig Drums; TaylorMade Golf Clubs
http://www.youtube.com/zombie13studio
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-17-2011, 12:14 PM
1Rhythmic's Avatar
1Rhythmic 1Rhythmic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Inside the Bass drum
Posts: 32
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

What causes this heat? Cable's quality? Lenght?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-17-2011, 01:12 PM
mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Firestudio Project Drum submixer

The output of the cone. It generates a lot of current (relative to microphones) because of its sheer size. More current means more impedence, which means a hot signal.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com