DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Old 04-23-2011, 07:29 AM

Default Ideas for rack setup

Hello all

This is my first time using these forums and I'm looking into getting a rack system for my kit. I've never had a rack before so there's a lot I'm unsure about.

Ok, so I have a 6 piece drum kit, as of now, bass drum, 2 rack toms, 2 floor toms, snare. Looking into getting another rack tom.

I have a ton of cymbals as of now. I have 9 on it now and a couple others laying around without stands.

Point is I have too many stands around my kit and there's a lot of clutter. I want to cut down on clutter and I want to mount the rack toms on the stand as well.

I was looking into getting the Gibraltar starter rack with the two wings.
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Gibralta...35-i1140143.gc

This is cheep and seems like a good start. But I fear the wings won't quite be enough in the long run as I'm sure they'll bend downwards with weight on them

To combat this I was planning on getting a couple of these. One for each side.
http://www.gibraltarhardware.com/?fa...&sid=85&cid=31

So the starter pack is around 300 and the extensions are 150 a piece. So about 600 plus clamps and such.

Is this the best way to go about things or is there a better setup to get what I'm trying to achieve. I would appreciate any help I know this is pricey so anyways to cut down would be nice.
Old 04-23-2011, 10:40 AM
Silver Member

Default Re: Ideas for rack setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piccolo549 View Post
Hello all

This is my first time using these forums and I'm looking into getting a rack system for my kit. I've never had a rack before so there's a lot I'm unsure about.

Ok, so I have a 6 piece drum kit, as of now, bass drum, 2 rack toms, 2 floor toms, snare. Looking into getting another rack tom.