DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Old 04-16-2011, 10:47 AM

Default Roland TD9KX or Yamaha DTX 550K

I am on the verge of buying an electronic kit. I have 2 great acoustic kits for gigging, but I am finding it too difficult to practice on them without annoying neighbors, so E-kit is the answer. I had a play on a Roland TD9-KX today for around an hour, and it was pretty good. I am also interested in the Yamaha DTX 550K. Now, I have no knowledge about E-Kits, so need to know which is the better kit. I can get either kit for similar money from my local drum store. I haven't really had a proper play on a 550k yet. The mesh heads on the Roland felt pretty good, but it concerns me a bit that the head response on the toms is much better than an A-Kit so might mess with my technique a bit. I didn't really like the feel of the cymbals and HH on the TD9-KX. I had a very brief hit on a 550k a few weeks ago and the cymbals and hh felt better. I need to know form you E-Kit experts which is the better overal kit and why.

Last edited by Late Bloomer; 04-16-2011 at 10:49 AM. Reason: added more
Old 04-17-2011, 03:11 PM
Gold Member

Default Re: Roland TD9KX or Yamaha DTX 550K

I'm not sure what your budget is, but you might also want to consider the new Yamaha DTX700...Yamaha just announced this kit a week ago..due in stores by June..very promising kit!...I've owned both brands both, but I prefer Yamaha..I attached a link below where you can see some of the new kits...there's also a DTX560, which has all new tom pads

http://www.rmcaudiodirect.com/Yamaha...rums-s/141.htm

Last edited by scorch whammin; 04-17-2011 at 09:23 PM.
Old 04-17-2011, 04:18 PM