DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-27-2010, 04:39 PM
BigDinSD's Avatar
BigDinSD BigDinSD is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,256
Default Do I also tune - retune reso head with batter head change?

Hey all,

I am just changing the batter heads on my snare and 10" floating tom. This is my 1st head change from the stock DW heads.

Would you suggest also tuning the reso head as well? Can I just throw on the batter, tune that and go?

Which head would be tuned 1st? (if both need tuning)

I originally used Bob Gatzen's tuning tips (very informative) after getting my set, but some additonal feedback would be very helpful. As always - Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2010, 09:17 PM
Pocket-full-of-gold's Avatar
Pocket-full-of-gold Pocket-full-of-gold is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
Posts: 9,870
Default Re: Do I also tune - retune reso head with batter head change?

If it needs to be tuned then yes, tune it up. When changing batters, I'll always check the reso's as well. If they need a total re-tune then I'll do that, if they just need a tweak then that's all I do.

As a general rule I tune my batters first. I can think of times where I've started on the reso's, but generally speaking, batters come first. This varies from player to player though. Check some of the tuning threads here on DW,,,,,you'll see that it's a case of "to each his own" on this one.
__________________
What's the best cape for running away from a gig?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2010, 11:02 PM
EvansSpecialist EvansSpecialist is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 523
Default Re: Do I also tune - retune reso head with batter head change?

I recommend starting from finger tight with both heads any time you put a new head on. It's a good fresh starting point. From personal experience, I always recommend tuning up to the tension you want, never directly down. Starting from scratch helps with this.

Enjoy the new heads!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2010, 12:19 AM
BigDinSD's Avatar
BigDinSD BigDinSD is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Do I also tune - retune reso head with batter head change?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pocket-full-of-gold View Post
If it needs to be tuned then yes, tune it up. When changing batters, I'll always check the reso's as well. If they need a total re-tune then I'll do that, if they just need a tweak then that's all I do.

As a general rule I tune my batters first. I can think of times where I've started on the reso's, but generally speaking, batters come first. This varies from player to player though. Check some of the tuning threads here on DW,,,,,you'll see that it's a case of "to each his own" on this one.
Thanks...makes sense! Was just trying to maybe save some time since the last head sounded nice. But now I have a new one - EXCITING!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2010, 12:20 AM
BigDinSD's Avatar
BigDinSD BigDinSD is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Do I also tune - retune reso head with batter head change?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvansSpecialist View Post
I recommend starting from finger tight with both heads any time you put a new head on. It's a good fresh starting point. From personal experience, I always recommend tuning up to the tension you want, never directly down. Starting from scratch helps with this.

Enjoy the new heads!
Hey - Thanks Mr. Evans! This will definitely help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2010, 12:05 PM
keep it simple's Avatar
keep it simple keep it simple is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 16,142
Default Re: Do I also tune - retune reso head with batter head change?

Short answer, yes, every time. I tune up for every gig too. My kit never comes back out of the cases from the last gig without being tuned up, both top & bottom.
__________________
This message is brought to you courtesy of Thinly Veiled Productions inc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2010, 03:25 PM
BigDinSD's Avatar
BigDinSD BigDinSD is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Do I also tune - retune reso head with batter head change?

Quote:
Originally Posted by keep it simple View Post
Short answer, yes, every time. I tune up for every gig too. My kit never comes back out of the cases from the last gig without being tuned up, both top & bottom.
Cool. Thanks man. I can truly respect that. I better sharpen my tuning...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com