DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-29-2010, 09:03 AM
manderman manderman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 42
Default Triggering samples with footswitch

Does anybody know if it is possible to use a footswitch instead of a trigger or electronic pad with a drum module?
I want to use it for an 808 subdrop, but another pedal + kickpad is too much money, weight and space for pressing it like 5-6 times during a gig.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:59 AM
mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Triggering samples with footswitch

A non-latching footswitch might well work. They can be had cheaply. I can't guarantee it to work, but both essentially send out voltage-based signals so it could. You'll have to change same of the MIDI settings, mind.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2010, 04:43 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,911
Default Re: Triggering samples with footswitch

You should be able to use a foot pedal, but you may have to change the trigger type for that particular input from a pad to a pedal if needed. You also want to be sure the sensitivity is increased in the module, so that you always get the full sound regardless how light or heavy you tap the pedal.

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2010, 08:52 PM
konaboy's Avatar
konaboy konaboy is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 2,544
Default Re: Triggering samples with footswitch

It was suggested to me on a roland forum to use the rockband double bass pedal http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CDAQ8wIwAA# and attach a trigger to it. The pedal is $25, trigger $20. I was going to do that but was able to modify the roland hi hat switch pedal to work for me.
__________________
"how are you living your Dash?"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:13 PM
manderman manderman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 42
Default Re: Triggering samples with footswitch

I know I can use a pedal and a pad, but it will take more time to set all the stuff on stage.

I would be happy if this type of pedal could work:
http://gadget-help.ru/media/1/20100104-14x_c40f820e.jpg

It's small and easy to hit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:57 PM
konaboy's Avatar
konaboy konaboy is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 2,544
Default Re: Triggering samples with footswitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by manderman View Post
I know I can use a pedal and a pad, but it will take more time to set all the stuff on stage.

I would be happy if this type of pedal could work:
http://gadget-help.ru/media/1/20100104-14x_c40f820e.jpg

It's small and easy to hit.

Honestly what I was talking about takes no more time to put in place than that pedal you are looking at. Problem is does that pedal have a trigger in it to send the signal or is it just a controller foot switch? That's the problem I ran into with the roland fd-8 foot switch, it only activates the open closed sound for the hats there is no trigger in it it's just a controller.
__________________
"how are you living your Dash?"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com