DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Old 06-21-2010, 09:11 AM
Platinum Member

Default Sonor 400 series hardware

Hi all, new guy here.

I've done a search for this and nothing in particular comes up, so here goes...

I've been an on-off pro drummer for most of my life having played in bands for Disneyland, and doing lots of casuals and weddings around southern California, and at the age of 44, I'm slowing down a bit but am shopping for a new kit (my current occupation is as an audio technician for the Disney company - something that evolved over my time there). I've owned DW, Ludwig, Gretsch, Yamaha, Tama, Rogers - all the top of the line stuff. I've never owned Sonor and am looking forward to trying one of their Force 3007 kits (I can't really justify an SQ2 or a Delite kit).

One of the things I've learned over the last 20 years is that I tend to sound the same on any kit - so I'm hoping when Tony Williams said he can make any kit sound OK - that I took that to heart long ago too! Hence, the Force 3007 choice - and besides, I'm not playing out as much as I used to and having access to the great folks at Pro Drum Shop in Hollywood means there isn't a part I couldn't find or something I couldn't borrow (they even built me a bass drum once, that the great Carlos Vega played in the shop and loved!).

But my question is this, anyone have any specific opinions on the 400 series hardware? I read one review of them and it said they were adequate, but not out-right inspiring. I suppose in my little world here, using all things Sonor would be unique, so I thought I'd give that a try too. I currently have DW 9000 pedals and although great, I swear I don't need stuff that adds an unnecessary 30 pounds to my trap case. My cymbal stands are currently Ludwig's flat-based stands, so going Sonor would be an upgrade.