DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Old 03-14-2010, 07:55 AM

Default E-Drum head preference, Rubber vs Mesh?

Hi, I'm still pretty new to the e-drum scene. I've played on rubber pads, and I played for awhile on Roland V-drums. I thought it was a no brainer as to which is best. But in the last 2 days while talking to other drummers about me longing to switch to mesh heads, both strongly preferred the Roland rubber type pads. Both had Roland kits with a mix of Mesh and Rubber. The first guy said he just preffered the rubber type. The second on said he was tired of replacing Mesh heads, though he did admit to being a heavy hitter. So I was wondering what the general consensus was out there. Or is it really just a personal opinion. Like I said I thought it was hands down Mesh was the winner and the only issue was the price difference.
I look forward to your responses. Thanks, Dave.
Old 03-14-2010, 08:06 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: E-Drum head preference, Rubber vs Mesh?

I have some of both from Roland.

Mesh heads feel far better than rubber. It's not even close. I can't see how anyone could think a rubber pad was better.

I'm a hard hitter, but I've never once had to replace a mesh head.
Old 03-14-2010, 02:09 PM
Pioneer Member

I don't own an e-kit but I've tried them out many, many times. I'd take a mesh head in a heart beat. If you're buddy is wearing through them then he needs to adjust something be it the type of beater he is using, head tension or might even try a falam patch to protect the head. I am curious as to how the new Yamaha pads feel compared to the mesh.
Old 03-14-2010, 02:11 PM
Silver Member

Mesh, without a doubt. Rubber puts so much stress on your wrists, it's not even funny. And heaven forbid if you use those godawful Rock Band drums for a long time...
Old 03-14-2010, 04:26 PM