DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-09-2010, 07:48 PM
willdrum4food's Avatar
willdrum4food willdrum4food is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 35
Default Yamaha DTXPLORER Question(s)

I am new to electric drum kits, and I am looking to invest in the cheapest possible kit I can find. I just want to practice at home until I use my acoustic to practice with the rest of the band. I have my eye on a Yamaha DTXPLORER. Does anyone know if I can add a ride to the current set-up? Maybe even run a splitter into the crash for my two crashes, and add my ride? Can I get away with using any electric cymbal or do I have to invest in that specific Yamaha cymbal? Not trying to ask a bunch of dumb questions, but I am uninformed, and I must stay within a certain budget for an electric kit that does have a ride, or has the option to add one.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2010, 02:02 PM
Neil's Avatar
Neil Neil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London
Posts: 276
Default Re: Yamaha DTXPLORER Question(s)

Well it depends on what you need out of the kit, do you need to have 3 Toms? Or is having two crashed important.
I have the same kit for home practice, the pads can be programmed for different things, so for example, I currently have the 1st Rack tom set as a 13" tom, the 2nd 'Rack Tom' set as my ride and the remaining is default, i.e. 2 crashes and 1 floor Tom.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2010, 07:38 PM
willdrum4food's Avatar
willdrum4food willdrum4food is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 35
Default Re: Yamaha DTXPLORER Question(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil View Post
Well it depends on what you need out of the kit, do you need to have 3 Toms? Or is having two crashed important.
I have the same kit for home practice, the pads can be programmed for different things, so for example, I currently have the 1st Rack tom set as a 13" tom, the 2nd 'Rack Tom' set as my ride and the remaining is default, i.e. 2 crashes and 1 floor Tom.
My problem is, I need everything, in addition to a 2nd crash. Even if the two sound identical, I must have two crashes and a ride. So, I thought about splitting the single crash into two crashes, and moving my ride to the right. But, in order to do so, I have to invest in another cymbal, wire, and splitter. The pricey part of that is the cymbal. Unless I really can get away with splitting the crash, and hooking up a rock band cymbal for my ride. Sounds crazy, but I must stick to a budget. Only problem is, I've never heard of anyone adding on to an DTXPLORER, and this is a painfully large investment to make for something that may/may not work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2010, 01:29 AM
King Nothing King Nothing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 33
Default Re: Yamaha DTXPLORER Question(s)

You can add one more pad or cymbal to the DTXplorer without splitting anything. On the bass drum pad there's another input. ;)

I used to have this kit as a practice kit and it's a great all around and cheap kit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com