DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 02-17-2010, 04:53 PM

Default Wooden tips chipping!!!!

Hey everyone,

At the moment I'm currently very frustrated and wondered if any of you could help. For years now I've been playing with Vater 5a nylon tipped sticks and have loved the feel of them. They've allowed me to play at both fast and slow speeds with ease. However I've recently grown tired of the nylon tipped and moved to vic firth 5a wooden tip after trying the vater wooden tip. However after a few weeks of playing the tips simple chip and shatter when the rest of the stick barley has a mark on it.

I now have a problem. I play many different styles of music as I work as a session musician and wish to have a stick as light as the 5a but wont shatter. I've tryed the, american classic rock stick and a few others and have found them to be too heavy which makes my playing sluggish and messy.

Just wondering if any of you have any suggestions as to what to do?

Thanks a lot
Robertondrums
Old 02-17-2010, 06:04 PM
Gold Member

Default Re: Wooden tips chipping!!!!

I had a very similar problem with my sticks splintering, so after doing some research and experimenting I've found that maple sticks don't splinter (they just dent, and eventually snap in half) and are very light, but can still have a wider diameter. They may be what you're looking for so you might wanna try 'em out. :)

-Jonathan

And a like facebook.com/illusivemanmusic
Old 02-17-2010, 07:20 PM
Gold Member

1. The weight of the stick has nothing to do with tip chipping.
2. I used Vics until the tips on them started chipping in abou 5 minutes. I switched to Promark and the sticks get ragged from rim shots before the tips chip. I like the tip shape better, too.
3. Check out the Regal Tip E-tips. These are nylon tips that look like this: