DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 02-11-2010, 07:01 PM

Default "Drummers are dumb"

Sorry!! But now that I have your attention. (i'm also a drummer btw)

My friend asked me "when did the stereotype that drummers are dumb" start?

I thought it might have been animal from the muppets giving that impression.

Does any one know where it originated from?
Old 02-11-2010, 07:30 PM
Silver Member

Default Re: "Drummers are dumb"

yeah, I know, and I'm ugly too...

I have no idea where it started but my guess is it started with a singer. I'm just GENERALIZING from personal experience. And of course not all our fellow musicians think we're dumb.
Old 02-11-2010, 08:26 PM
Gold Member

Guitarists are egocentrical douchebags, vocalists are wimps in girly outfits and bassists are actually a breed of neanderthals. There, now you got your stereotypical band.
Old 02-11-2010, 08:30 PM
Silver Member

Well it's because, to the untrained, a drummer just sits back there and counts to four. Plus look at rock bands from the past. They didn't do a WHOLE lot compared to the rest of the band so it seemed like all a drummer had to do was keep time. I blame AC/DC and the Rolling Stones, mainly.
Old 02-11-2010, 08:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaard View Post
Guitarists are egocentrical douchebags, vocalists are wimps in girly outfits and bassists are actually a breed of neanderthals. There, now you got your stereotypical band.
Yep sounds like you hit the nail right on the head there man. made me laugh.
Old 02-11-2010, 08:41 PM
Gold Member

Actually the Stones' Charlie Watts does a lot more outside of the Stones. It's just their music that made him sort of only a timekeeper.