DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Old 01-24-2010, 05:26 AM

Default Case for transporting electronic kit / Trap equip

Hi, I'm new to this board and forum. My name is Dave I'm 49 and I've been playing off and on for about 42 years. I was playing quite a bit in groups between 90-2004. But in 2000 I had a serious back surgery, my 3rd and a neck surgery. I continued to play but was lucky to own a photo studio that also served as our practice studio. Therefore I didn't have to move my kit other than to gigs. I finally had to give it all up in May of 2005 due to chronic pain. Just recently through some help from a medical massage therapist I've decided to try to get back out there. I have a 5 piece Premier kit with HD premier & Gibraltar hardware. I found out this week it hurts a lot to move the kit and set it up, but not so bad to play.

I have a couple of questions. What's the easiest way to pack and move the hardware? Is it best to put it in multiple bags?

Also for practice and smaller gigs I may use my electronic kit. Right now it consist of an Alesis DM Pro module with rubber pads. I plan on adding mesh heads for at least the snare, and will probably still use my real cymbals. What is a good way to transport and electronic kit?

Final question how good for practice / small gigs are the portable acoustic kits, the ones with short shells? Thanks much, Dave

btw type of music is classic rock but not heavy metal

Last edited by Spiney; 01-24-2010 at 05:32 AM. Reason: Wasn't finished with message
Old 01-25-2010, 03:46 PM
Gold Member

Default Re: Case for transporting electronic kit / Trap equip