DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Old 12-25-2009, 06:10 AM

Default Roland HD-1 HD1 V-Drums Lite

Do any of you have an opinion of this kit?

I'm an Intermediate/Novice drummer ready to upgrade my gear.

I've thought about purchasing a rack and then just building a kit from what I find on Craigslist, ebay and local music shops -- mostly to learn and to have fun with the process. But this kit intrigues me.

Will I do a disservice to my learning process if I use the bass pedal on the HD-1 HD V-Drum lite? I'm just worried about picking up bad habits and technique. This kit also doesn't allow me to build or expand.

Nevertheless, this appears to be a nice quality compact kit. I just don't want to make a bad purchase.

I'm curious to what people have to say about this kit. I couldn't find any previous posts on the subject.
Old 12-25-2009, 07:31 PM

Default Re: Roland HD-1 HD1 V-Drums Lite

i got it last year around this time when i decided to start drumming. for the first couple of weeks i loved it. but then as a gift, i got an acoustic kit and have never been able to go back to it. i goof around on it sometimes, but i really can't stand the feel, the lack of sounds, and the customization of it.
Old 12-26-2009, 07:25 PM

I agree. An acoustic kit would be ideal. In fact, I find the craftsmanship of the higher end acoustic drums fascinating. We have a wonderful family owned drum shop in my city -- so I've had the chance to play around with quality gear.

Unfortunately my neighbors would go bananas if I played an acoustic. I feel sorry for anyone forced to listen to my novice drumming ability at this stage.

I think the HD kit meets all of my needs and I bet I could find one for $500 or less after the holiday.
Old 12-27-2009, 03:42 AM