DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 09-14-2009, 11:44 PM

Default Replacing heads

hey, i'm a bit of a newbie so if this thread is elsewhere, i apologise in advance :P
I've got a Mapex M Birch, about a year old, and it has the original heads, clear Remo ones. I can't actually find them anywhere online... they're that free :P

I play mostly rock and metal, and was wondering when would be a decent time to change the heads, and what to? There are so many heads and things, i wouldn't know where to start

any help would be appreciated :)
Old 09-15-2009, 03:51 AM

Default Re: Replacing heads

My take is that "free" mystery heads, are worth replacing right out of the box. :)

As for which heads, good question. I'd check out the websites of the major brands, and the meantime, perhaps someone knowledge of heads for louder music will chime in.

-Ryan
Old 09-15-2009, 10:38 AM
Platinum Member

The time to change out stock heads on a new drumset: Unless you have bought a top-of-the-line drumset with G1s, Emperors, Ambassadors or something similar on them as they shipped, the time is immediately.

You're going to want a loud and durable dual ply head for rock and metal, very likely. Go with Evans G2 or Remo Emperors if you don't mind overtones (and if you do, use a spot of Moongel). Again: it's easier to muffle than to unmuffle.
Old 09-15-2009, 10:52 AM
Big_Philly

I got a lot of compliments on the sound of coated emperors over coated ambassadors. I don't play metal, but am 100% sure this head combination will do fine in a metal setting.
Old 09-15-2009, 06:38 PM
Silver Member

You may want to try clear heads though, since your playing rock and metal. They'll give you more attack than coated heads. But I'd have to agree Emps over Ambs or G2s over G1s, you can't go wrong; very versatile heads.
Old 09-15-2009, 11:48 PM

Quote: