DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 06-18-2009, 07:17 PM

Default Do you play with butt-end of a stick?

First I started playing normal with 5B's, then 5A's, then 5B's again. Then 5B's with butt end. And then I got Vic Firth rock model and played a bit normal but switched to butt end. Then I got me Promark 2S and played with butt end only. And now I got me Vic Firth Ralph Hardimon and I play with butt ends only. A natural progression I would say. Although it's maybe too extreme hehe

Do you play with butt ends? What's your opinion of that? I personally like the way everything sounds and the feel is better than when I'm holding a stick a "normal" way.

Last edited by DangerousDave; 11-05-2009 at 07:03 AM.
Old 06-18-2009, 07:44 PM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Do you play with butt-end of a stick?

The taper exists to store and release energy and produce more bounce and response than a straight stick, making it easier to play (is that cheating?)

Sometimes I play with timbale sticks, which have no taper, but I don't usually like to play with the butt end because I sometimes get splinters in my hand. I guess I could just play butt-end on some sticks, but then why not get double-butted sticks or timbale sticks?
Old 06-18-2009, 07:46 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathmetalconga View Post
The taper exists to store and release energy and produce more bounce and response than a straight stick, making it easier to play...
That's definitely true, but there's something about the blunt force feel of a butt-end and not having that bounce. I think it's easier in some ways to maintain a more even dynamic.

When I was young and couldn't afford to replace sticks when the tips broke off, I played the butt-ends and got used to it to the point of preferring it. I like the way a stick feels with the weight out at the other end.