DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Pedals

Pedals Discuss Pedals

Old 05-26-2009, 06:25 AM

Default 1st double bass pedal setup

Hey Crew,

Damn... I just got an old (1960-ish) Gibraltar "Rock" double bass pedal, and took to it like a fish in water! I've never done the double bass pedal before, and am instantly addicted to it.

I think one thing might be a factor in instantly taking to it-- for years I've been tapping my LEFT foot to drum beats on the radio while driving my truck, (as obviously the right foot was on the gas pedal or brake) and I think that makes all the difference.

Now, a question-- how in hell can I snug my hi-hat up next to it close enough so I don't have to spread my left foot WAY over to get outta the way of the left foot pedal for the bass? I hae the internal bass pedal rod scrunched in as far as I can-- do I need to cut that rod down?

All input is VERY welcome, and thanks in advance.

Cheers,
C. P.
Old 05-26-2009, 11:11 AM

Default Re: 1st double bass pedal setup

i just have the left bass pedal coming from the back of the hi hat stand right next to the hi-hat foot bored and try to avoid wide shoes so its easy to move my foot from side to side.
if that helps at all?

a drop clutch can also be hand?
Old 05-26-2009, 06:41 PM

I would say use a remote hi-hat setup if it bugs you that much, or get a 2 legged hi-hat stand and put the slave pedal around the back so that its on the outside of the hat pedal. I have been dealing with this problem since I picked up my double pedals, I have a 3 legged hi-hat stand so my solution to getting to the hi-hat pedal easily is well... long legs. Another option is something like this http://www.dwdrums.com/hardware/5520-2.htm, that's what I would have got if I wasn't such a newb when I picked out my pedals
Old 05-26-2009, 07:44 PM
Platinum Member