DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Old 09-16-2008, 04:02 PM

Default SPD-S effects question...

Ok, so I bought an SPD-S a while ago and I absolutely love it. I use it all the time.

My question involves the effects on the unit. I gotta give you some backround first. I am rather disappointed with the onboard effects on the unit. They work but I feel like the interface isn't the best for effects nor are the available effects. You can't really switch out effects mid song either, unless you make a whole duplicate patch and switch it to that song with another effect. I am a drummer, needless to say I dont have much experience with electrics or recording.

I have the spd-s' left and right outputs going into left and right inputs on our mixer that go into the PA system. I don't know much about balanced vs. unbalanced cables or what line-level or inserts or whatever all that means. So, dispite all my rambling, heres the question:

Can I use generic guitar or vocal pedals wired to the output of the SPD-S to get some more useful effects without hurting anything equipment or sound quality? I imagine it would be simpler to adjust and turn and off the effects.

Thanks for the help, folks.
Old 09-16-2008, 07:53 PM
Platinum Member

Default Re: SPD-S effects question...

I have an SPD-S that I run in stereo, usually thru 2 matching Roland PM-1's. Right channel dry (straight wire from machine to amp). Left channel wet. I run my left channel into an Electro-Harmonix 16 Sec. loop station. The voodoo you can do there is "off the hook". That signal then goes into an Ernie Ball Jr. volume pedal. That way I can control the vol. of the loop and fade my loops in and out of the mix. From the vol. pedal, signal goes to left channel PM-1. So yes, you can run your signal(s) onto any type guitar processors you want, basically.