DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Old 06-22-2008, 05:41 AM

Default Home Recording Not Cheap

Hey I am looking to get into some music production not just for my drums but for my band and in the near future for many more.

So far Ive got an extreme desktop computer which I plan on loading up pro tools on since I am majoring in audio production and that is what they use at the University I will be transferring to.

I got plans to start a small business to help small time bands or bands looking to record that just don't have the gear get some tracks off the ground before they get big ;)

Anyways so far I was looking at

This Shure Mic drum Pac with the 3 SM-57s and the Beta 52 for 399.99
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Shure-Drum-Mic-Package?sku=270263

I was wandering if that would be all I needed to get everything including the cymbals my setup is Snare, high tom, floor tom, Bass drum, one ride, one crash, and one high hat. So will that mic set do the trick Im not trying to go cheap so if there is something you think I should add to that set let me know otherwise I have heard nothing but good things about it.

Second question is about what I use to get it into my computer there are just so many 4 track 8 track and 16 track recorders I just don't know what I should get. I am planning on going into guitar center to get some more information but since they are on commission I feel as though I will be sold more than I need. So if anyone has some recommendations I am trying to stay under 1000 on the recorder but maybe I can get away way cheaper than that? Keep in mind I won't just be using it for my drums but for my future recording of bands as well.

Any tips are appreciated maybe theres a website someone could throw out that has real reviews and not just manufactures posing as customers.