DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 06-02-2008, 04:21 AM

Default Tips for self-taught drummers

Hey drummers,

This might be a very general question, but I figured that it was valid enough to ask.

I've been playing drums for about two years now. I've only gotten really serious with them in the last few months. I'm more or less self-taught; first I learned to play by ear (something that got me started), then I learned techniques from various friends who took lessons (I know, way to freeload) and recently I've started reading notation and learning to play from the sheet. I'd like to think I've come a long ways by myself, but I've decided that my practices need to start having some structure.

Since my knowledge might not be as broad as drummers who took lessons for 2 years, I was wondering if anybody could give me tips as to how to practice, what to practice, and what to watch for.

(My own practices right now aren't very structured at all, and aside from rudiments, the only way I really "practice" techniques is whenever I come across them in songs. Then I usually steal them and incorporate them into improv where I try to expand on them, etc.)

Anyhow, tips would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks..
Old 06-02-2008, 04:48 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Tips for self-taught drummers

My tip is to go to a teacher and get s foundation. Get your grip right and get some good fundamentals. Bad habits will be hard enough at this point, don't wait any longer. I know all the self tough guys will say you don't need it but I disagree. the foundation has to be strong or you will not be able to build on it. You will be shocked at what a year of lessons will do for you.
Misc. Snares
My Web Site
Old 06-02-2008, 07:06 AM
Platinum Member