DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Cymbals

Cymbals Discuss Cymbals

Old 05-11-2008, 07:06 PM

Default Zildjian ZXT Titanium Cymbals

When I first started playing drums, I wasn't sure what kind of music I'd be playing, so I played it safe and picked up mostly "medium" cymbals. This way I play around with different kinds of music without restricting myself.

But then I started playing REALLY hard, and eventually got into much heavier music as well. Because of this, I know have 3 cracked cymbals.

Long story short, my local music shop is selling a pack of 4 Zildjian ZXT Titanium Cymbals (hi hat, ride, crash, and splash) for $500, originally on for $900. This is obviously a good deal, and I put them on layaway. I haven't gotten a chance to play them, but in my current situation, I can't really afford to be picky.

I just wanted to know if these are any good. The reviews seem pretty positive, but I wanted some personal experience from you guys. Thanks.
Old 05-12-2008, 11:59 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Zildjian ZXT Titanium Cymbals

I have a set at home. I'm not a fan at all; heavy, thick cymbals with an extremely harsh sound to my ears.

As far as breaking cymbals, you're looking at your problem the wrong way.
It all starts with bad technique, resulting in unnecessary force being inflicted onto the cymbal in a way it can't handle, so it cracks. Then you think "maybe I need thicker cymbals" and get those. The problem lies in that thicker cymbals are brittle and more prone to cracking, especially when subjected to extreme force and bad technique, thus escalating your problem of breaking cymbals.
Old 05-12-2008, 06:05 PM

Alright, so if my problems are resulting from bad technique - what can I do to fix it?
Old 05-15-2008, 04:37 AM