DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 05-06-2008, 03:11 PM

Default REMO disappointment

I've been using Evans heads for a few years now, but wanted to try some REMO heads to see how I like the sound. I picked up a 14" coated Ambassador for my OCDP snare. It would not tune to save my life, no matter what I did it sounded like a choked tom-ish sound. I thought that it might've been the new Puresound snare wires I picked up, but when I switched the snare wires between my OCDP and another drum, it turned out that it was a bum drumhead. Not exactly a "great first impression" for REMO - especially since in 5-6 years of playing Evans, I've NEVER had a bum head from them. Has anyone else had this problem?
Old 05-06-2008, 03:42 PM
Silver Member

Default Re: REMO disappointment

Yes.

I used Remo religiously for a lot of years. To tell you the truth, I was afraid to try anything else. I thought pulled apart heads was common for all. Turns out, it was mostly just the Remo coated reverse-dots I had been using. I never realized how tough a head could be till I switched to Evans. I've been using Genre HD's and Dry HD's with clears for my toms instead of Remo Clear Pinstripes. Sounds is better, durability is rediculous, price is easily comparable if not better. Certainly makes every penny spent, worth it.

I recently saw a kit in GC that was fitted with Remo Weatherkings with Black Suede's and Black "X" on the snare. Sounded good and I must admit, looked great (IMO)...just the whole durability thing. After so many years and not having heard anything about Remo having a revolution in quality...I don't know if I could feel secure about re-fitting my kit with them.

Just my .02
Old 05-06-2008, 03:42 PM
RiseandFall