DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 04-09-2008, 05:59 AM

Default Best Way To Get Sponsored?

Hi All,

I've started this post because I did a couple of quick searches for how to get sponsored and didn't get many hits... so I hope this will get something good started :)
Some quick background info about my situation... I'm almost totally self-taught (which is a deceptive label anyway since that just means I've learned by listening and, more recently, watching videos for technique refinement and inspiration), I'm 22 years old, a senior in college, and I've been playing set since Christmas of '98. Recently I joined up with two other guys and started a funk/rock/jazz band that's going really well (although we're still feeling out what style of music we're most interested in ultimately pursuing).
I feel that I'm becoming developed enough to get a sponsorship pretty soon and so my question is this.... What's the best way to get a sponsorship?? I'm not ready to sign a record deal yet (and neither are the other guys), but I've heard that getting signed is one of the best and easiest ways to get sponsored. Is that true? Are some companies easier to sign with than others?
I'd love to hear from anyone with advice, especially personal experience, on the matter. Thank you all so much for your time and let's keep the music coming! :)
( haha oh yeah, this is my first post ever, so please be kind )
Old 04-09-2008, 06:15 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Best Way To Get Sponsored?