DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Old 04-09-2008, 12:14 AM

Default Need some E-Drum Purchase Advice

So I'm a beginning drummer looking to buy a drum set. I'm looking to get electronic drums because noise is an issue and I'm looking for some advice. My budget is around $1,000 and I'm buying in Canada. Been doing a lot of research and have found some possibilities within my price range and I just wanted to make sure I would be getting the best deal and a quality set. So here are the deals I'm considering:
  • At my local drum store they have a Yamaha DTXpress III for rental ($100/month) and they do work out rent-to-own type deals. At this store this kit retails for $749.
  • A local craigslist ad has a dude selling his Yamaha DTXpress IV (standard, with a pedal and stool) for $950.
  • Another local music store has a TD-3SW (mesh snare) for rental at $120/month where the 1st month would go towards the purchase if you plan to buy the kit. Retails at $1100
  • Another local craigslist ad has a guy selling his TD3SW (with pedal and warranty) set for 900$

So those are my four main options I'm looking into. They seem like a good compromise between quality and price as far as I can tell. I've also been looking at the Alesis Dm5 Pro and Yamaha DTXplorer as possibilities. Only problem is that those two sets seem hard to come by in Canada.

Anyways, any input into how I should go about choosing would be greatly appreciated. I'm not so sure what the DTXpress 3 is in comparison to the DTXpress 4, or whether people prefer the roland kits over Yamaha. Anyways, any input into how I should go about choosing would be greatly appreciated.
Old 04-10-2008, 12:59 AM

Default Re: Need some E-Drum Purchase Advice