DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Your Place > Your Gear

Your Gear Show your Gear - Pictures - Descriptions

Old 03-22-2008, 02:08 AM

Default Indigenous Roots Drum Kit

Is anyone else playing a version of what I call my Indidgenous Roots Drum Kit?

I have kept the kit 'organic', the core being three conga drums, two didgeridoo, and five foot pedals for other percussion instruments. Though I am a trap drummer, on this kit I play exclusively with my hands, oh with the exception of when I use goat toenails shakers to slap on the drums.

I have put a lot of thought into the details of this Roots Kit, and a lot of work into learning to play it.

If you are curious, you can hear and see a number of my solo compositions at www.youtube.com/bongodoggie.

I would be interested to hear from others working up similar stuff.
Old 03-22-2008, 04:11 AM
Pioneer Member

Default Re: Indigenous Roots Drum Kit

Hey bongo...

I know you from congaplace. Nice to see you here... I'd like to see and here some clips of you on kit as well if you have any. Cool gear!
Old 03-22-2008, 05:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garvin View Post
Hey bongo...

I know you from congaplace. Nice to see you here... I'd like to see and here some clips of you on kit as well if you have any. Cool gear!

Thanks Garvin. Yes the Roots Kit, the gear, is cool I think too.

I have several gizmos on that kit I invented, like the horizontal cowbell mount. It has a shorter throw than the commercial vertical ones, which makes it quicker and more articulate. The suspended seed pods and nut shells are mounted on rods cut from plastic clothes hangers which flex and shake for crash effects. I think the sponge mounted on the didgeridoo is a cool little detail too. It lets me wet a finger needed to produce the slide sound on conga without breaking the circular breathing on the didgeridoo.

I plan to record some standard drumkit video sometime too. I'd like that.