DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-05-2008, 11:51 AM
SeveringDozza's Avatar
SeveringDozza SeveringDozza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 148
Default Metronome?

I want to get a metronome to help my timing with my double bass drumming. Obviously I'm using an acoustic kit because electronic ones already have metronomes in the module.

What sort of metronome would be a good one to get?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2008, 11:27 PM
SeveringDozza's Avatar
SeveringDozza SeveringDozza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 148
Default Re: Metronome?

Anyone? I just need a recommendation for one that would be good while using an acoustic kit so that I can hear it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:05 AM
MusiQmaN's Avatar
MusiQmaN MusiQmaN is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 937
Default Re: Metronome?

I'm using the Boss db-90

all the functions you expect from a metronome such as, different types of notes/feels/sounds, rhythm coach function (training) memory and chain mode, AND midi in.

that last one is great function if you work wit sequencers/samplers.

just plug in the midi cable from you're interface or pc (depends on what you bring along on the road) play a sequence in like say Ableton, press on the midi button on the db-90 and... instantly it will take over the tempo (and possible changes) from your seq/sampl.

great metronome.

the Yamaha clickstation is exactl the same, only with another look and brand.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:12 AM
SeveringDozza's Avatar
SeveringDozza SeveringDozza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 148
Default Re: Metronome?

Those a little out of my price range. Are there any cheaper ones at all? I don't need anything too fancy.

It's important that I am able to hear the metronome when using my acoustic kit too.

Last edited by SeveringDozza; 03-06-2008 at 10:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2008, 11:44 AM
DestinationDrumming's Avatar
DestinationDrumming DestinationDrumming is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 367
Default Re: Metronome?

I have a Korg MA-30. Very cheap (10 = $20) max. No variety of sounds but lots of varied time signatures, number of beats to the bar and you can tap in a speed. It also has a headphone socket so you can use it with headphones and you'll easily be able to hear it above your kit. The best part is it's about the size of a mobile phone so you can easily take it anywhere you want. I got mine off Ebay!
__________________
OK, OK It's back to rudiments for me! I'll be back in a few months
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2008, 05:49 PM
turbinesaint turbinesaint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: Metronome?

I use a cheap metronome and I play with isolating headphones over the earpiece. Works fine for the $12 I paid.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2008, 10:30 AM
SeveringDozza's Avatar
SeveringDozza SeveringDozza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 148
Default Re: Metronome?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DestinationDrumming View Post
I have a Korg MA-30. Very cheap (10 = $20) max. No variety of sounds but lots of varied time signatures, number of beats to the bar and you can tap in a speed. It also has a headphone socket so you can use it with headphones and you'll easily be able to hear it above your kit. The best part is it's about the size of a mobile phone so you can easily take it anywhere you want. I got mine off Ebay!
Awesome. Is this the one you're talking about? http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Korg-MA-30-Di...QQcmdZViewItem

I know it most likely is, but I'm just double checking.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2008, 09:44 AM
DestinationDrumming's Avatar
DestinationDrumming DestinationDrumming is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 367
Default Re: Metronome?

Yep, that's the one!
__________________
OK, OK It's back to rudiments for me! I'll be back in a few months
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:17 PM
Reverso's Avatar
Reverso Reverso is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 8
Default Re: Metronome?

I use a Boss DB-88 metronome, which is an old-school version of the DB-90. I practice with with Vic Firth Isolated Stereo Headphones. It's a great metronome, but expensive. If price was the main factor, I would get a cheap one and use isolated headphones with it. In the mean time, you can hook up the headphones to your computer and use the following free online metronome.

http://www.metronomeonline.com/

Peace....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-15-2008, 06:54 AM
Rossco's Avatar
Rossco Rossco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 29
Default Re: Metronome?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeveringDozza View Post
Awesome. Is this the one you're talking about? http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Korg-MA-30-Di...QQcmdZViewItem

I know it most likely is, but I'm just double checking.
yeah, i have one of those metronomes i would recommend it. Good gear for the Money. ;)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-15-2008, 04:22 PM
mrhahn mrhahn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canterbury, UK
Posts: 10
Default Re: Metronome?

I've got the Korg MA-30 aswell (10 from eBay here in England) and have to say it's amazing. I used to use Audacity on my laptop to create a click but this does the job and is much more portable. The tempo-tap feature is especially useful, as I'm not great at imagining what a certain bpm will sound like so setting the tempo was a bit tricky in Audacity.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-15-2008, 05:31 PM
Jake[BE] Jake[BE] is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 32
Default Re: Metronome?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonor4life View Post
I have this one.

http://www.thomann.de/gb/millenium_r...ythmpumper.htm

Cheaper and more versatile than the Tama RW105 Rhythm Watch. This is the same as chinese Cherub and you can read the manual here:

http://www.cherubtechnology.com/epro....php?proid=188

Tama has the same build quality but twice the price.
I have been thinking on buying one of these. Does it go as loud as the Tama Rhythm Watch?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com