DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 02-26-2008, 11:54 AM

Default Frustration with remo CS head!!

Hello everybody, I'm somewhat of a newbie here. I mostly read and don't post haha.

Anyway, I have a problem with my bass head, I was hoping someone who's used this head before, could offer me some advice. Bear with me.

1) Today I decided I would replace my pearl stock bass drum head with a Remo control sound black dot. I tuned it up as best I could and played it, it had a loud, boomy sound but it also had a ring that went on forever. I dampened it by putting a pillow inside (touching resonant head only) but still there wasn't a single, definite thump or boom when the beater hit it, it was more of a booooooooooom.

I tried to get the bass drum off the floor as much as possible, still no luck. After trying for about AN HOUR (you can imagine the frustration) to make it sound decent, I gave up and put the pearl head back on. Can anybody explain why the remo cs head would give off a rather long ring?? Is it bad tuning or a bad head?

2) Now that the pearl head is back on, when the beater hits it, no matter how much control I put on my foot, the beater keeps bouncing back onto the skin, making one hit sound like one and a half hits. So instead of a thump, it goes thump-ump. Especially when I play quick double strokes. Does anybody know what I mean? And how can I rectify this problem? Is it the spring tension on the pedal?

I really don't want to buy a new bass head because the Remo CS black dot is brand new. Any help/tips/advice/suggestions????

THANKS IN ADVANCE!!!
Old 02-26-2008, 11:59 AM

Default Re: Frustration with remo CS head!!

sounds to me like its a case of the beater bounce, do you have a hole in the reso skin?
if not, that will fix it and also lessen the ring of the drum, making it more a thump than boom.