DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 02-02-2008, 11:50 PM
Administrator

Default Ported Head

I wanted to try a ported head on my set but didn't want to cut a hole in the Gretsch Black reso head. So I bought a white smooth PS3 head, added a Gretsch decal, a 4 inch black Holz, and voila. A couple of photos to view. I like the sound with both heads just beyond wrinkle and much less pedal rebound for my bad habit of burying the pedal. Enjoy.
Attached Images

Old 02-03-2008, 12:17 AM
fourstringdrums

Default Re: Ported Head

How do you personally cut the hole? I've never used a Holz before. Is it just a sticky template that you put on the drum, and cut out with a utility knife, then snap on the protector?

Did you buy the decal or did you make it?
Old 02-03-2008, 12:39 AM
Administrator

I bought the decal from Gretschgear.com, and I traced the hole with a felt marker and cut inside the line, then made a second cut to make it the proper size. I used an exacto blade to cut a small hole then a pair of small scissors to cut around the line. The front piece of the ring has a lip that goes into the hole, with adhesive around it, and the inside has a collar with adhesive that slips over the lip to make a good seal. No rattling. The PS3 actually came with a 5 inch sticky template that is glued on the the inside of the head and then you cut the inside portion out. I didn't want a 5 inch hole. And just so you know, the Holz was chrome, they had no black, so I sprayed it black when I got home.
Old 02-03-2008, 01:01 AM
fourstringdrums

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRUNTERSDAD View Post