DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-28-2007, 07:10 PM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Pro tools :(

I didn't want to start using pro tools to multi track because I hear so much about how it ties you down.

However, unless anybody knows of any other programs that let you gate and compress tracks, I have to use pro tools.

Anybody know of anywhere I can download it for windows? All I can find is Mac Downloads.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2007, 07:15 PM
sticksnstonesrus's Avatar
sticksnstonesrus sticksnstonesrus is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Virignia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 762
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Hmm...

All I have ever used is Pro tools. I hear Garage Band was supposed to be fairly simple but effective.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2007, 07:15 PM
Muffled Tom's Avatar
Muffled Tom Muffled Tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brazil
Posts: 321
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by svkelleher10 View Post
I didn't want to start using pro tools to multi track because I hear so much about how it ties you down.

However, unless anybody knows of any other programs that let you gate and compress tracks, I have to use pro tools.

Anybody know of anywhere I can download it for windows? All I can find is Mac Downloads.
Audacity is a free multi-track program that allows you to compress.

SoundForge is not free but you can use it to both compress and gate and it's a multitrack.
__________________
My favorite bands: Pink Floyd, Radiohead, Jimi Hendrix Experience, Red Hot Chili Peppers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2007, 09:48 PM
jonescrusher's Avatar
jonescrusher jonescrusher is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,176
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by svkelleher10 View Post
I didn't want to start using pro tools to multi track because I hear so much about how it ties you down.

However, unless anybody knows of any other programs that let you gate and compress tracks, I have to use pro tools.

Anybody know of anywhere I can download it for windows? All I can find is Mac Downloads.
Well, i can't see how Protools should tie you down, given that it's the industry standard tracker; it's used in every recording studio because it is so powerful and versatile.

Second, you're asking for download sites for Protools? Noob!! Save up and buy it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2007, 09:56 PM
Pearl Player's Avatar
Pearl Player Pearl Player is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Somewhere near the Mile High City
Posts: 197
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Hiya... Here is how I do 24 track recording!

I use Cubase! What I dont like about protools is how you are tied to thier hardware! My system is based on an Alesis 24 track hard drive recorder. I use a dock and transfer the files to my studio computer and they will import directly into Cubase!

Audacity is also a good program but can be a bit slow when importing or exporting the mix.


Cubase has all the compression, gating ect that you might ever need. Now a point! Any multitrack mixing, compressing ect requires a lot of processor power. Make sure your computer has tons of ram, is nice and fast and you have lots of hard drive space.

Hope this helps ya out!

Mike
CEO Rocky Mountain Remote
__________________
Pearl, Sabian Paragon, Remo, ProMark
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:01 PM
hawk9290's Avatar
hawk9290 hawk9290 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ/Columbus, OH/Punta Gorda, Fl
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Pro tools :(

haha, a ProTools download won't do much good- you have to have a specific USB i-Lok or a ProTools compatible DAW/Interface.

ProTools does tie you down in that you can't use a lot of components with it, however it ties you down in a good way, because you can only use higher quality recording equipment with it- and really its not that incompatible if you research it enough. ADAT optical ports really open it up, about the only things you can't use with it are USB devices, as long as you have one ProTools device (such as if you get a M-Audio Firebridge, you can interface 32 mic pre's into that, and still use whatever other sends you have on the pre's to the fx units or whatever else you have).
__________________
"When I hear music, I fear no danger. I am invulnerable. I see no foe."- Henry Thoreau
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:17 PM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

I might go with cubase. Honestly, money is what's tying me down right now. I'm so poor i'm using dynamic mics for overhead. So yeah, i'll looks for any free software download i can get.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:18 PM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

I used audacity one time when my group had to make 10 rough recordings in 2 hours. Long story. I didnt see anything about compressing or gating in the interface though. Does audacity have those features?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:25 AM
Muffled Tom's Avatar
Muffled Tom Muffled Tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brazil
Posts: 321
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by svkelleher10 View Post
I used audacity one time when my group had to make 10 rough recordings in 2 hours. Long story. I didnt see anything about compressing or gating in the interface though. Does audacity have those features?
I said this in my previous post. It has compression, but no gating. However, if you so choose to acquire SoundForge, buying or downloading it (I'm not condoning it), it does have both compression and gating, plus a million other very useful features.
__________________
My favorite bands: Pink Floyd, Radiohead, Jimi Hendrix Experience, Red Hot Chili Peppers
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2007, 02:30 AM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

SoundForge sounds good.

Haha the fed's are gonna catch up with me one of these days anyway, i might as well not try to avoid it.

Now if only i could use condensers or ribbons for my multitracking, instead of dynamic mics.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:00 AM
FullerBrushMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Pro tools :(

there are plenty of alternatives out there... all you have to do is look! I'm not in the business of promoting anything.... you have to use your wits and imagination and find something else besides "Slow Tools"

pro tools is to recording as microsoft is to computing..... nasty and predatory.

boycott them both if you're able to..... you'll be a better man for it!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:24 PM
Muffled Tom's Avatar
Muffled Tom Muffled Tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brazil
Posts: 321
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by svkelleher10 View Post
SoundForge sounds good.

Haha the fed's are gonna catch up with me one of these days anyway, i might as well not try to avoid it.

Now if only i could use condensers or ribbons for my multitracking, instead of dynamic mics.
Download condenser mics off Limewire!! ;p
__________________
My favorite bands: Pink Floyd, Radiohead, Jimi Hendrix Experience, Red Hot Chili Peppers
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:28 PM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Tom, i would if i could haha.

And i was looking at FL7 but idk what the hell any of this stuff is. I just need something simple with gating and compression.

Apparently i actually bought magix software last year. Anybody know if there's gating on magix 2005?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:52 PM
Muffled Tom's Avatar
Muffled Tom Muffled Tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brazil
Posts: 321
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by svkelleher10 View Post
Tom, i would if i could haha.

And i was looking at FL7 but idk what the hell any of this stuff is. I just need something simple with gating and compression.

Apparently i actually bought magix software last year. Anybody know if there's gating on magix 2005?
I'm still going to say go with Soundforge. I can't find much on Magix 2005 but I can tell you that SoundForge is simple and has everything you need.
__________________
My favorite bands: Pink Floyd, Radiohead, Jimi Hendrix Experience, Red Hot Chili Peppers
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-30-2007, 03:38 AM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Thanks. I'm definately going to have to try sound forge. Which version do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-30-2007, 04:57 AM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Ok so i got SoundForge 9 for my computer. It's pretty much the best way to go. I found gating under effects, but under what tab is compression?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-30-2007, 03:52 PM
jonescrusher's Avatar
jonescrusher jonescrusher is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,176
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by svkelleher10 View Post
Ok so i got SoundForge 9 for my computer. It's pretty much the best way to go. I found gating under effects, but under what tab is compression?
Prove that you've paid for it, and you can expect help. You'll find that people asking for sources for pirated material get a cold reception here, that should extend to software too.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-30-2007, 07:03 PM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

You can't pirate SoundForge it requires a serial number...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-31-2007, 03:43 AM
hawk9290's Avatar
hawk9290 hawk9290 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ/Columbus, OH/Punta Gorda, Fl
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by svkelleher10 View Post
You can't pirate SoundForge it requires a serial number...
and you can pirate that as well if you look in the right places- though I wouldn't suggest it because my friend has tried it many times and often his computer ends up getting screwed up from spyware.


as for MAGIX 2005- somehow I got it to multi-track record, but no one else seems to be able to do that unless you have something like the Motu 8pre and the Cue*something* software that comes with it so you can record it and then export it into MAGIX.
And yes, it has a plugin- Compressor/Expander/Noise Gate/ Limiter
__________________
"When I hear music, I fear no danger. I am invulnerable. I see no foe."- Henry Thoreau
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-31-2007, 04:07 AM
rmandelbaum's Avatar
rmandelbaum rmandelbaum is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,018
Default Re: Pro tools :(

I went through the same thing. Pro Tools is great if you have a ton of cash. I went with Cubase and have no regrets.

Almost any of the computer interfaces include Cubase LE, it does most of what you need to do. I happen to use SX, I have not upgrades to 4.0 yet

Here is an idea, go pick up a copy of Computer Music magazine.
It includes a DVD with a complete DAW and a ton of goodies for it.


Here is my Cubase home studio
__________________
DW Collectors
Vintage Superstars
Roland TD-20
Misc. Snares
My Web Site
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-31-2007, 05:48 AM
Victor_se's Avatar
Victor_se Victor_se is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: México City
Posts: 234
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Well one friend and i started to use Pro tools in my PC and because I only got 512Ram i can't open anything else in my computer or it will get stuck for a while so maybe you need to have a powerful computer
__________________
My Kit

Tama, Remo, Sabian, Vicfirth
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-01-2008, 03:57 AM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

my computer only has 768mb ram so I'll go with sound forge.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-01-2008, 04:06 AM
Muffled Tom's Avatar
Muffled Tom Muffled Tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brazil
Posts: 321
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by svkelleher10 View Post
my computer only has 768mb ram so I'll go with sound forge.
How odd, 768 mb is a very random number

Anyway how is SoundForge treating you?
__________________
My favorite bands: Pink Floyd, Radiohead, Jimi Hendrix Experience, Red Hot Chili Peppers
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-01-2008, 04:16 AM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

I had 512 and added 256. Soundforge is worth it by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-01-2008, 04:25 AM
Muffled Tom's Avatar
Muffled Tom Muffled Tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brazil
Posts: 321
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by svkelleher10 View Post
I had 512 and added 256. Soundforge is worth it by the way.
Oh ok, thats unusual though most people upgrade 512 to 1gb.

Anyway, that's good, glad I could be of help. =)
__________________
My favorite bands: Pink Floyd, Radiohead, Jimi Hendrix Experience, Red Hot Chili Peppers
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-01-2008, 04:48 AM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

I was getting a video card at the same time and I decided to put more money into that. Which was a bad idea by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-01-2008, 03:17 PM
jonescrusher's Avatar
jonescrusher jonescrusher is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,176
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by svkelleher10 View Post
You can't pirate SoundForge it requires a serial number...


Lol, as do most programs. Which version did you buy?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-01-2008, 09:18 PM
svkelleher10's Avatar
svkelleher10 svkelleher10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA (Steelers blow)
Posts: 114
Default Re: Pro tools :(

version 9. it's pretty cool it's got a lot of features
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-02-2008, 10:38 AM
Jay.B.'s Avatar
Jay.B. Jay.B. is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Derbyshire, Midlands, UK
Posts: 720
Default Re: Pro tools :(

Cubase and Acid for PC
Albeton and Logic for Mac

I personally use Cubase SX3 at home, and an early PC version of logic at the rehearsal room, my mate up north uses the latest version of logic in his studio on his G5 dual power mac

The software won't make it a great recording though, it will only give you the tools to make a great recording.
__________________
Get Ya Groove On

http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=34061
My Latest Addition
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com