DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Your Place > Your Gear

Your Gear Show your Gear - Pictures - Descriptions

Old 09-05-2007, 07:18 PM

Default Restored my first set

Well after hanging around in the shadows for the about the last year or so I finally decided I'd better join up with the "drummerworld" and get in on the fun!

I've been drumming for 13-14 years and have played on various setups over the years but they've all come and gone except the set I started out on, and just haven't been able to get rid of yet. Probably because no one wants it. My first set (and current) is a 70's vintage Maxwin/Pearl set. Yes, yes, I know. Turn up the noses, make fun, etc... I realise this is no where near a classic set and yet it was more than a sufficient start into the world of drums and percussion.

Now what have I played over the years you ask (if I still have a Maxwin in the stable)? I played a few Pearl exports, a couple Yamaha's (stage customs),an old beat up Gretsch, Tama superstar, and yes even played (and recorded) on a beautiful blue sparkle DW.

The Maxwin's had sat in the corner of my parents basement for quite a few years unplayed when i got the idea to restore them for fun last winter. The shells and wraps were always kept in mint shape so really it was a pretty easy project. That and I restore and customize cars, so drums are pretty straight forward really.

Specs are as follows: (piano white wrap)
Bass: 24x16
Concert toms: 8x6, 10x7
Toms: 13x10, 14x11
Floor tom: 18x16
Snare(s) Steel 14x5.5, 13x3 Pearl piccolo (steel)

Current cymbal set up:
Paiste 505 15" medium hi-hats
Zildjian 20" A custom medium ride
Zildjian 16" late 70's vintage crash, Canadian made (unbelieveable!!! I'd replace it but I can't find anything I like better)
Sabian 16" HHX manhattan jazz crash
Zildjian 8" K splash