DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Old 07-31-2007, 11:36 PM

Default Multi-Zone E-Drums A La Carte?

Hi, this is my first post.

I am not a drummer by trade, though I do have a set of Ludwigs and 2 MIDI Drumkat percussion controllers which I use a lot for my own projects. I don't try to play out, but I can play well enough to know I want something better than what I've got. Which is.........

A few decent electronic pads which I can use to trigger some very nice sampler libs I've got.

As I said, I've got 2 Drumkats and they are fine for some things. But the thing is, and the thing about most e-drums I tried over the years is that they have only one sound per pad which is, as you know, ludicrous, for capturing the nuances of any drum.

Now I see that Roland and Yamaha have kits with 2 and 3 'zones'. Great. But it seems like you have to buy the entire -kit- and the 'brain', which I don't need.

So here's my question:

Are there any multi-zone e-drum pads one can buy which don't require a complete kit? Where you can buy just the pads you want/need?

I saw Korg had something like a conga pad a few years ago and there was an ad for something called 'Mandala', but these look like they are for hand drummers.

Any ideas?

(Sorry for rambling)

THANKS!

----JC
Old 08-01-2007, 12:50 AM

Default Re: Multi-Zone E-Drums A La Carte?

JC,

You can buy Roland gear a la carte. For example, I have bought Roland cymbals and mesh drums from Midwest Percussion. That said, for some of the gear you may need either a trigger to MIDI interface (e.g., TMI for triggering sampler sounds in your library) or a drum brain (which has the TMI plus sound set built-in). That is a different situation than your DrumKAT gear which has the TMI built into the pad.