DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 07-16-2007, 08:12 PM

Default coated diplomat on snare side

I wanna try putting a coated diplomat on the snare side of my snare drum. I have a coated ambassador on top. I'm a little frustrated because everyone I've talked to about this thinks i have no idea what I'm talking about and tell me that a coated diplomat doesn't exist. well..... http://www.wwbw.com/Remo-Diplomat-Co...s-i19513.music

so i'm pretty sure they exist. what I'm wondering is if it would not work as well as a "diplomat snare side" drum head because of the coating. Maybe it wouldn't respond to the snares as well? Do you think it would work? thanks in advance
Old 07-16-2007, 08:18 PM
Silver Member

Default Re: coated diplomat on snare side

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcl1627 View Post
I wanna try putting a coated diplomat on the snare side of my snare drum. I have a coated ambassador on top. I'm a little frustrated because everyone I've talked to about this thinks i have no idea what I'm talking about and tell me that a coated diplomat doesn't exist. well..... http://www.wwbw.com/Remo-Diplomat-Co...s-i19513.music

so i'm pretty sure they exist. what I'm wondering is if it would not work as well as a "diplomat snare side" drum head because of the coating. Maybe it wouldn't respond to the snares as well? Do you think it would work? thanks in advance
Well it says it is popular on underside tom heads, but nothing about snare. I hate to answer not having any experience with it, but better then no answer.

Why would you want this over a regular clear diplomat snare side head? Are you trying to achieve a certain sound that you think this might have?
Old 07-16-2007, 08:23 PM
Platinum Member

It would be too thick I think

You need a Hazy head to get a good responsive sound.