DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 07-05-2007, 07:43 AM

Default Tip size

Hi,

I'm a rock / metal drummer but my hands are small so I'm considering 7A or 8A. But I'm wondering... small tips are obviously way softer than big tips, right?

Advice?
Old 07-05-2007, 05:40 PM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Tip size

What do you mean by softer? I use everything from 7a to 5b. I can get the same sound from my kit using all of them. Lighter/thinnner sticks can be beneficial to a drummer.
Old 07-05-2007, 05:45 PM
fourstringdrums

I'd say that tip shape has more to do with the tone, than actual volume. Take a look at alot of Jazz drummers, they use small sticks generally but get a HUGE sound out of them. It's all about your touch.

If you're playing metal, I would go for what stick feels comfortable to you, but look for a rounder, ball or bead shaped tip. That will give you a fuller sound on the drums and the cymbals.

Oh and before I forget, Wuv from P.O.D. uses 7A's if that helps at all.
Old 07-05-2007, 05:48 PM
Administrator

If you mean softer that you can't play loud for fear of breaking, I would try some Vater 7A with nylon tips. The tips are a little bigger and definately harder than the wood.
Old 07-06-2007, 09:14 AM

Thanks so much! Now I am gonna purchase some 7As.

So basically a 7A is as loud as a 2B?
Old 07-06-2007, 04:44 PM
fourstringdrums

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gene Smasher View Post
Thanks so much! Now I am gonna purchase some 7As.

So basically a 7A is as loud as a 2B?
Really it's all in your hands. Technically speaking, yes a 2B is louder because there is more mass, but with the right touch you can make a 7A sound as loud as a 2B. Again, I would just get what feels comfortable to you and sounds good on the drums and cymbals. Don't get hung up on numbers vs. volume. You can always adjust that with your own playing later.