DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 06-28-2007, 10:12 PM

Default Anybody using aquarian super 2's?

Ive just put aquarian super 2's & classic clears (black) on my toms today (sonor 2007 in 10x8 12x9 14x14 16x16). Ive only seated them & given them a very very rough & rushed tuning. There sounding ok. Probably sound better tomorrow. My 10 is a bit dead at the moment.

Just wondering what people think of them. Or what there like compared to say the response or evans g2's. Any tuning prefrences?

Thanks guys
Old 06-28-2007, 11:04 PM

Default Re: Anybody using aquarian super 2's?

I have been using coated Super-2s over classic clears for about 6 months and I love them. I thought that they were a bit dead the first couple of times that I played them. This, I thought, was strange because they are thinner than the traditional 2-ply head. After I played them a bit, I fell in love with the sound. I found them to sound more round and full than coated Emperors or G2s.

I tune my drums fairly high (Bonham/Danny Carey style tuning) with the reso tighter than most would go and the batter head a bit looser. I hit hard, so a tighter tuning like this makes my Starclassics w/ Super 2s sing.

On a 10 tom, I have heard that an Ebony reso can suck away the sound regardless of the batter head because its a little thicker than a clear head. Just food for thought. I have never used ebony resos myself.
Old 06-28-2007, 11:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyWaters View Post
I have been using coated Super-2s over classic clears for about 6 months and I love them. I thought that they were a bit dead the first couple of times that I played them. This, I thought, was strange because they are thinner than the traditional 2-ply head. After I played them a bit, I fell in love with the sound. I found them to sound more round and full than coated Emperors or G2s.