DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Old 06-06-2007, 04:30 AM
Platinum Member

Default G2 over G1 or EC2 over something else?

sorry but for some reason my search function wont work, it keeps saying ERROR so i had to make a thread. so heres my dilema, as you may have heard from my other thread, im overhauling my drums with a new paintjob and new heads.

i was told to go with G2's and G1's but i was also told to go with EC2's over evans resonant glass. are ec2's better than g2's?

im looking for very clear heads because i want to expose the new stained interior of my drums, and im looking for a very WARM and FULL sound, almost as if the toms were bigger then they actually are, a very heavy metal/metallica sound

im a really big nOOb when it comes to heads. please respond quickly i have to order these quick if i want to get them in time for my drums to be complete

thanks, and sorry about the repetative thread, STUPID INTERNET EXPLORER

Old 06-06-2007, 11:00 AM

Default Re: G2 over G1 or EC2 over something else?

Id go with g2's but the ec2's are are more muffled like pinsripes. I think it depends what kit you got? i.e what wood its made out of & what ply. Ive just got a sonor 2007 9 ply birch & im finding i dont have to dampen my heads anymore as the drums are very focused anyway. I only have remo ux stock heads on at the moment but i didnt need any dampening & when i put moongel on just to see what would happen it just killed the drum dead! My old pearl export the best sound i got was with g2's with one moongel on each tom. In my case a 12x10 16x16. The ec2's probably would have sounded great on them with no moongel. Hope this helps
Old 06-06-2007, 02:15 PM
Platinum Member